South Korea


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul » Seodaemun-gu » Sinchon
July 24th 2006
Published: July 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

PerformersPerformersPerformers

Folk Performers at the Korean House.
Despite the rudeness of the people I really enjoyed our short time here in Korea. It is mainly the older people that seemed inconsiderate to us but I think that is just their culture and we are not used to that. On the subways or even on the street, they will push you out of the way without even an "excuse me"(or the Korean equivalent). If you are in front of them in line they will literally grab you and move you out of the way.
On the way to Seoul, I accidentally put my train ticket into the machine and couldnt get it back. I explained this to the man in the ticket booth and he basically told me "Too bad, you shouldn't have put it in there in the first place" and made me buy another ticket.
When we got on the train this drunk man across from us started yelling at us in Korean for no reason. We figured out from his hand gestures that he was telling us to be quiet. We weren't even talking loud. This seemed to be nothing compared to what some of the other people that I talked to have experienced. They were literally turned away from restaurants in certain places away from the city.

Laura, I can see now why S. Korea was your least favorite country that you visited.

On the flip side we did meet some great people who were very nice and willing to help us which more than made up for all of the rudeness. This one guy in particular we met on the subway helped us out with our Korean pronunciation which is extrememly difficult. Also our one crazy cab driver who gave us Korean candy and many laughs.

While visiting Deoksugung Palace today this young girl approached me and pointed to her camera saying something in Korean I figured she wanted me to take a picture of her and her friends so I said yes of course. She got all excited and they were all giggling and her friend proceeded to take a picture of the two of us. It was nothing I have ever encountered before. I felt like a celebrity.
At this palace we dressed up in traditional King and Queen attire and took pictures which I will upload onto the site soon.

Tonight we went to see a Folk Art Performace where we saw some traditional performances such as a Fan dance, Opera and an Instrumental Music concert. Afterwards we were able to take pictures with the perfomers which I will also upload.

Tonight is our last night in South Korea and we are leaving early tomorrow morning for Beijing. I learned that 3 nights is definitely not enough to see an entire city, especially when you have friends here.

I will keep you all posted on Beijing. Goodnight😊



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

King and QueenKing and Queen
King and Queen

Dressed up as King and Queen at the Palace.


25th July 2006

That's Rude!!!
Wow! They really hate Americans!!! It is still a wonderful experience!!!
26th July 2006

Awesome Trip!
Glad to see the trip is going good. I love the picture King and Queen picture. haha. can't wait to see all the rest of the pictures. How are the hostels so far? do they actually have toilets...? Good Luck in Bejing, hopefully the people will be nicer
26th July 2006

Nice pics! ... and I thought NYC was rude. lol. Missing you here... it just ain't the same looking over my shoulder and not seeing you no more..

Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0428s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb