Answering the call


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea
December 4th 2007
Published: December 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So here I finally am.

In South Korea... for a year. I'm settling in and spending a bit too much money, when one of my initial goals was to save some $$, but I've a feeling it will all right itself.

There's no wood to knock on but I'm feeling like it's too good to be true here. My boss is great and so caring. My coworkers are funny and dedicated to the students. A very supportive staff at my school has me feeling I've stepped into a family away from home. Maybe that's why not an ounce of homesickeness has hit yet. But I've also heard that comes at about month 3.

This 1st week a lot has happened so that it feels more like a month has passed. But I am excited every day to get to the school and see my students. Today I did a demonstration to some of the older students for the phrase 'a lightbulb clicked on' or to the effect that in English that means you just light up when you finally understand a concept. That's the simplest way for me to explain how I know I made the right decision in coming here. Every time I see one of my students have their 'lightbulb' click on I know I'm where I'm supposed to be.

Foreward thinking has me predicting if I will still be saying that 6 months from now, but it's the mantra I will keep in the back of my head. There is a rhyme and reason for everything.

Today Okhee took me to this teahouse and we had tea and milktea. I can already tell I'm going to be a tea addict. It's very soothing and centering ritual I feel I must adopt as my own. And another thing I love here is the random small gifts that seem to appear on my desk from my students and coworkers. I even found myself today picking up a bag of small oranges at the convenience store to bring in and distribute. Just to bring a bit of sunshine to those around me. The people here are so giving, not only with physical but verbal gifts.

Some people say be careful because much of it is saving face. But I like to think of it as good karma and paying it forward. I want to be a giving person, and I want it to be real. That much is evident in the fact that the 1st message I heard from the church service I went to on Sunday was 'How often do you think of others throughout your day...send them a mental blessing or just wish them well..." such a lovely thought! I think strive to do that more is a good idea.

And my broken English is improving. Yes I mean that sarcastically. Talking with Lori my co-teacher at Global she says I'll be speaking broken English and screwing up my own native tongue for a long time to come. That's awesome when my primary responsiblility is teaching others better English.

But I want to learn Korean too. I bought 2 Korean books and learned some of the hanguel writing system a few nights ago. I should be more diligent...and now I should go to bed because I am going to jazz dance class with Ha Yeong, the school's secretary. Who's afraid of getting even MORE out of shape than I am now? At least I don't own a car and have to walk everywhere in Jinju.

Soo....counting my blessings this day. A nice way to wind down.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0399s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb