The mountain that is Jirisan


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea
September 28th 2007
Published: September 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I had never been hiking before I came to Korea. The thought of climbing a mountain always sounded great but actually doing it terrified me. Around February time, a group of us decided to climb a small mountain in the area we live in. The climb nearly killed me, however, I vowed that I would get fit and try to climb the tallest mountain in mainland South Korea before I left for pastures new. The weekend that has just past, Andy and I did exactly that; we climbed all 1,915 metres of mount Jirisan!

I am immensely proud of myself for a few reasons;

1) I have found a new hobby/activity that I like, keeps me fit and is fun
2) I achieved another goal whilst in Korea
3) I climbed in a pair of 3 year old New Balance running shoes!

Day 1#
We set of on our adventure on Saturday 22nd September where we arranged to meet our friends so many miles above sea level at our first shelter for the night. We went to bed early and rose early, cooked our breakfast and then set off for day 1 of our 3 day hike. However, those pesky weather reporters had lied to us, 'Sunday through to Wednesday... we shall have blue skies and bright sun'...and down came the rain. And lots of it. And because of the rain, the paths became boggy and sludgy and slippery and wet.

After 6 hours we arrived at our second shelter; our home for day 2 of the hike. Unfortunately, there was a BIG problem and our reservation had not gone through via the internet, therefore there was no room at the inn. We were stuck. Wet, tired, laden with heavy backpacks and at least 4 hours away from any habitable villages, we were stuck on a mountain in Korea.
Survival instinct kicked in and we went on our way quickly, trying to beat the sunset that was only 5 hours away. All of us shattered, wet and with buckling calf muscles we eventually made it off the mountain and found shelter in a small village where all five of us slept soundly. Lights were out by 9pm; exhausted but content that we were not stuck on that wet, cold and dark mountain.

Day 2#
We initially decided to go home to our apartments in Gimhae. Then the sun came out!! Due to the problems encountered the day before we were now situated on the north side of the mountain and we wanted to really be down in the south. So of we trotted, packs on backs, muddy wet trainers but wearing shorts and t-shirts, we set off to find a bus/taxi/horse and cart to take us to the 2nd part of our adventure in Jungsan-ri.

Day 3#
After an early night at our small minbok (Korean version of our B&B, but cheaper) we set of to climb Jirisan's peak. After a 5 hour hike, we reached the top together. The personal goal I had set myself in February had been achieved and my New Balance was in tact. Apart from Andy’s encounter with a huge grizzly that tore at his arm and chest, we were and are in one piece.

Back home now, we are aching slightly but feel refreshed after our early nights and 5 days worth of fresh air. We are even talking about doing another hike this weekend maybe.

Other news; my visa for Oz has come through and I am about to book my flight out of here at the end of October!



Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

Our reading clubOur reading club
Our reading club

being very rock 'n' roll. after 17km of hiking we were all shattered.


Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0558s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb