A quick reflection..


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Busan
September 17th 2007
Published: September 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Its Monday 17th September and I (Emma) am sitting in a PC Bang, a large room that contains around 200 PC's. There are people in here studying, playing shoot 'em up games, racing car games, writing essays etc. There is also a guy here who looks like he may have been here since Friday. There is no natural light and I can see how you could loose track of time in a place like this.I am also killing time before I meet a friend. I have just been for my chest X-Ray, which, hopefully will be clear allowing me to enter Australia. For those of you we havent managed to catch up with yet, I have decided to head to Oz next month to find a job in Sydney. I am very excited but it will also mean a 4 month period of seperation for Andy. We are, however, looking at this in such a positive way and I believe we are really lucky to have each other, as we are supporting each other fully. The past year has seen our relationship flourish in ways unimaginable, so we know a 4 month period apart will be easy peasy.The fact that I am leaving has meant that the last few weeks have been one of reflection. We have been in Korea for almost a year and in that time we have had amazing experiences, great experiences, exhausting experiences and sickly ones. Culture shock has come and gone and I am now used to the smells, the stares and certain odd things that still manage to tickle me. Good friends have also left the country and have gone home to reflect, begin new jobs or in some luckier cases, are travelling around the world as we speak. Each of these people have contributed to our time in Korea and they dont even realise.From a personal note, I am happy to be leaving Korea but I am not ready to go home to England yet. There are so many things I want to do and coming to Korea - much to many peoples shock and discouragement- has given me (us) the confidence to try new things and I now feel like I can achieve anything. Andy and I are completing our TEFL, I am 5 modules down on my Psychology work and we are excited to start new teaching jobs in Italy next year.All in all, life is pretty rosey at the moment!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0193s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb