My past month


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Suwon
December 12th 2007
Published: December 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Ok, ok, I know. Its been forever since I've updated! But I'll fill you in.

I haven't done too many exciting things in the past month. Nothing compared to my first three months here when I was gone almost every weekend! I think my apathy is a mix of wanting to meet more people around where I live, winter and colder weather and my life becoming normal. I'm not complaining though. I've had a great last month.

Anyways, when the weather wasn't so cold out I was out doing alot of walking and exploring around my area. Then the weather turned cold. And by cold I dont mean -20 like back home. (Thank God!) But I'm a big wimp when it comes to cold, so I decided to get another months membership to the gym. K, so one motivated morning I got up at 5:45am to go to the gym. I'm all pumped to go for a run and work out and I walk into the gym to find the heat is on full blast! I couldnt believe it. Who turns the heat on in a gym?! Especially when its maybe -5 out. (Ya...see? I'm a big wimp...especially for a Canadian!) Anyways, I decided to try to run. Well 20 minutes into it I was a disgusting mess who was dying of heat! I'm pretty sure everyone else was looking at me funny because no one else had even cracked a sweat. Needless to say I was a tad bitter that morning.

I told Lucy this and she said that most gyms have the heat on in the winter. It seems that most Koreans dont have a problem with sweating like crazy, unlike myself. In the summer when I got here I was a disgusting mess all the time. The humidity killed me. I'd walk 5 minutes to school in capris and a t-shirt and be sweating like crazy by the time I got to the school. In those 5 minutes I'd probably pass about 20 Koreans wearing jeans and a hoodie or a jacket. I'd be looking at them like "Holy smokes...how are you not dying of heat right now?" And they were probably looking at me like "Holy smokes...that foreigner is wearing less clothes than me and shes sweating like crazy! Gross."

My kids at school are awesome. Every day I love them more and more. They are so funny! Also, they make me feel like I'm pretty much the coolest, funniest and most talented person ever. I did this really obvious magic trick one day and they were competely in awe! "Whoa, Whoa! Kimberly Teacher! Magic!" Another time Junior, one of the coolest kids ever, asked me to draw him a tornado. I did and holy smokes! He started saying all this stuff in korean and all the other students had to come over and see the amazing tornado I had drawn. Then he asked me to sign it. So I signed my name and that was another amazing thing! I was like a celebrity with all these 7 year olds crawling all over me asking me to sign their papers. Haha...I just love them. They are so cute!

Another time I was teaching these three 7 year olds and they kept complaining about how much work they had to do so they asked me at which page they would finish on. I told them we would finish when they got to page 157. They checked and it was over 100 pages I said we had to do that day. Then they started whining actually thinking I was serious. Then the one girl saw me smiling and said to me in a very serious tone, "Your joking! Jokes, jokes jokes! Thats all you do is joke!" I asked her if that was ok or not and she said (very seriously) "No! You joke too much!" It was so cute!

I probably have so many more stories, but either they aren't worth mentioning or I've forgotten them at the moment. Either way, the past month has been great and I'm loving it here!

I dont know when I'll get around to blogging again. If something exiciting happens within the next week I may write about it. If not, its off to Thailand to see Ashley, lay on the beach and party! I cant wait!

Chances are nothing too exciting will happen in the next week so I hope everyone has a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

Love you all!






Advertisement



Tot: 0.029s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0134s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb