I'm in Seoul, and I'm super-tired... Heh!


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul
October 28th 2006
Published: October 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Tom's Travel Map

Just a little map showing all the stops during my trip!

Rob at the airport Rob at the airport Rob at the airport

Hello South Korea!
That's right people, I am in Seoul, and I am super-tired. 27 hours of travel time will do that to you; especially when you get 3 hours of sleep before you leave. Oh well, what are ya gonna do? That's 3 more hours than Rob, who didn't bother with sleep. We didn't actually get here until 9:00 pm on Tuesday (Seoul time). Thankfully, Rob's friend Justin (who's teaching english here) gave us some great directions to his place and hooked us up in a cheap hotel. We're staying in one of those sex hotels that are so popular with the businessmen around here. The place is nice, and sometimes we get to hear a show!

Despite our lack of sleep, Rob and I got a move on the next day with Justin's friend Chris (who's vacationing here) and checked out some pretty cool places in and around Seoul. First stop was Jongmyo, the royal ancestral shrine of the Joseon dynasty (1392 - 1910). According to my brochure, it's, "where the spirit tablets of its kings and queens are enshrined and memorial rites are observed in respect of time-old confucian tradition." The Japanese burned most of it down in the late 1500's, so most of what you see is reconstructed, but it's a beautiful place.

On Thursday we went to Namhansunseong - a walled fortress just outside of the city. If you're a hiker and in Seoul, please go here! You may not finish it in one day though - the whole place is about 23km. You get a great view of Seoul (the place is huge), and it's really quite quiet.

Rob, Chris, and I made it to the War Memorial of Korea on Friday, despite serious issues with the subway. Just put all the stops on the map, that's all I ask! That was great; really informative and it gave me some insight on the Korean War, which was perfect because we went to the demilitarized zone (DMC) today.

The DMC was an interesting trip. You get a strong impression of just how intense the situation is between North and South Korea. Your passport is checked twice before you even enter the DMZ, a brief slide show is shown showing the history of the region (World War III almost started here back in the 70's - google it for the details), you sign a declaration incase
 Shrines at Jongmyo Shrines at Jongmyo Shrines at Jongmyo

There was this ring bolted to the ground. I thought it looked cool, so here you go...
the shit hits the fan and and North Korea attacks, and you are to make no gestures of any kind to the soldiers on the north side, for fear of provocation. What's more, you actually get to enter North Korea! That's right bitches, I was there! I rule!

The one thing that kinda ruined the DMZ for me is that for something so intense, it's really become a tourist trap. Basically, they say, 'Let me see your passport... ok, sign this declaration incase of an attack and make no motions or gestures to the north korean soldiers. ...Oh, and don't forget to check out our gift shop!' A situation that really is serious suddenly seems to be a joke, and that shouldn't be the case, especially with North Korea testing nukes.

Before I go, a few notes about Seoul and Korea (they don't call it South Korea here). First off, the city is really westernized. You know you're in Asia, but you feel like your in North America, at least until you see the oodles of street vendors trying to sell you shit. Also, the people are amaziningly helpful! I look at my subway map like a monkey trying to do a math problem for about a minute, and someone is there to help. The food is great (not too spicy) and crime is virtually unheard of here too, so nothing to worry about. If anyone is nervous about coming here, let me put those worries to rest!

Anyway people, it's been a blast! Rob and I are going to the eastern side of Korea to check out the mountains over there. Can't remember the name so I'll fill you in later. Hope you all enjoy the photos - I probably won't get this many on my future blogs, but I had some time today, so what the hell! Peace out!


Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Be young, have fun, drink Pepsi!Be young, have fun, drink Pepsi!
Be young, have fun, drink Pepsi!

I wonder if I can get an advertising commission for this?
Big-ass spiderBig-ass spider
Big-ass spider

These things are huge (the body alone is almost an inch)! There were tons of them at Namhansanseoung.
Namhansanseoung FortressNamhansanseoung Fortress
Namhansanseoung Fortress

This is the entrance gate. It only costs $1000 won to get in here (about $1.20 CDN).
Namhansanseoung FortressNamhansanseoung Fortress
Namhansanseoung Fortress

The side of one of the walls. Not exactly the Great wall of China, but very cool just the same.
Namhansanseoung FortressNamhansanseoung Fortress
Namhansanseoung Fortress

Rob, Justin, and myself.
Namhansanseoung FortressNamhansanseoung Fortress
Namhansanseoung Fortress

One of the many shrines there.
War Memorial of KoreaWar Memorial of Korea
War Memorial of Korea

This statue is of a south korean soldier and a north korean one, who happen to be brothers. Very moving - it puts some realism into the situation with these two countries.
Demilitarized Zone (DMZ)Demilitarized Zone (DMZ)
Demilitarized Zone (DMZ)

Just before the presentation telling us the history of this area and of the ever-present danger.
I'm super-stoked to be in North Korea!I'm super-stoked to be in North Korea!
I'm super-stoked to be in North Korea!

See the UN flag over there? anything to the right of it (myself included) is considered to be in North Korea. Obviously, I can hardly contain my excitement...
North Korean SoldiersNorth Korean Soldiers
North Korean Soldiers

This is basically the borderline - even if no official separation between the two countries exists.
South Korean SoldierSouth Korean Soldier
South Korean Soldier

He looks friendly, doesn't he?
Bridge of No ReturnBridge of No Return
Bridge of No Return

Also in the DMZ. After the war, the POW's on both sides were released here and told to go to whichever side they wanted. The only stipulation: Once you've crossed the bridge, you can never come back...
Hope for re-unification...Hope for re-unification...
Hope for re-unification...

This statue represents the hope many people have of re-uniting Korea. North Korea is on one side of the sphere, South Korea's on the other, South
A sign of hope?A sign of hope?
A sign of hope?

On the side of one of the walls in the DMZ, roses were growing. It seemed odd to me so I took a picture. Sorry for the photo-trickery, but I thought it looked cool.


2nd November 2006

hi
Tom, pictures are beautiful. how are you doing? did you get the info on Japan - I had Brandon send it to you?
2nd November 2006

Got the info Jaz, forget my previous comment! Later!
3rd November 2006

Hello from Seoul
Hey everyone, thanks for your comments! Hope everything is going good at the bank! Later!
3rd November 2006

Seoul
Tom - Looks like you're having a great time. I love the blog and the stories. Keep it coming. Nothing new back home other than a mini Oil slump. M. Slapman
4th November 2006

HI
Glad to see you made it there safely. Beautiful pictures. I especially like the war memorial, it would be very moving. Look forward to reading more of your travels Maureen
8th January 2007

Hey Tommyboy, I just logged into your blog for the first time, it’s great. I love your entries. Hope you’re having lots of fun, be safe and take care. By the way you’re HOT!!!
8th January 2007

Happy New Year, everyone!
Hey people, Happy New Year to all of you!!! Mike, it was a pleasure to travel with you as well. I loved the conversations, the cards, and keeping the neighbours awake that first night in Luang Prabang; they probably still hate us! Rest assured, if I make it to Australia, I'll be looking you up! Thanks for the comment Sara! I'm very flattered - you're sweet! Between you and Anyone (who tells me she's a she), I'm getting a following! Sweet! Battle to the death, my pretties!! Winner takes all! Ha ha, just kidding - but not really! Seriously though, I'm glad you're enjoying the entries. I've been surprised by all the positive feedback, especially from people just logging onto my blog. So thank you! Looks like you've got some competition Anyone! Bwa ha ha, ha ha ha!!! Sorry, but that's about the best evil laugh I can type. Happy New Year to you!

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0337s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb