Seoul Stopover


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul
August 11th 2014
Published: August 15th 2014
Edit Blog Post

It felt good to be back. I was actually more nervous than I remember for this trip. Four countries in under four weeks! Most recently in 2010 and 2012, I had chaperoned 11 kids twice in one country and had jumped over to the Caribbean (Cabo, D.R, and Bahamas) for a week here and there, but it had been awhile since I had dusted of the proverbial backpack (I have upgraded to a suitcase on wheels...so smart!) and been a traveler.

And really, most of the trip was planned out and not just by me. I was only in charge of one country, Cambodia. Anne gave me advice about South Korea, Dipendra and Emily were covering Nepal, and Matt had mapped out Thailand, so there really was no need for concern. But I guess the case is true, when you step outside your comfort zone, the anticipation of the first step is always the scariest. But I am going to continue take one scary step in exchange for a lifetime of adventure.

My trip began with a long layover in Seoul. My good friend Mary once comment after returning to China from spring break in Japan, that we had picked the wrong Asian country. China was smelly, confusing, and everything was unexpected. but Seoul was the complete opposite. Seoul was smooth, seamless and it was the perfect stopover.

Upon arrival, I linked in to the free airport wifi to text everyone I had arrived, I double checked my bus location and route and bought a ticket with ease. I did miss my bus stop but only by one and a short trek backwards and I found my Airbnb room with only one wrong turn. Seoul was easy and interesting. My Airbnb host took me on a quick tour to the Itaewon shopping street and bought my a bite of street food, which is always a favorite. I wondered a bit, explored Cheonggyecheon, an open stream that flows through downtown that you can actually put your feet in (which seems impossible growing up next to the famous river that caught on fire) and then enjoyed some Korean food and then back to my traditional Korean house for a night on the floor, I mean mattress an inch up from the floor.

Up early the next day, I did not get to see as much as I wanted, but
Endless ice creamEndless ice creamEndless ice cream

I could get behind this business.
Seoul seems like a city that could easily fit back into my travel plans.

On to Nepal.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Traditional Korean home stayTraditional Korean home stay
Traditional Korean home stay

It was cute, and if I wasn't so tired I would have minded the lack of amenities.
Asia.Asia.
Asia.

Bright lights, weird things.


Tot: 0.149s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.095s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb