Onward to Yonsei!


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul
June 25th 2009
Published: June 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

It is I, again. And there you are.

Anyhow, so maybe I lied to you before--today is technically my last day at the hotel, but that's not what I meant. I don't get a full day today because check-out's at 12.00. Woke up around 9.00 and packed up after some dawdling. Figured out travel stuff on how to get to Yonsei, because today is move-in day.

Checked out and left my luggage at the front desk place so I could grab some lunch. I planned to eat at the hotel's restaurant because I knew that, at least there, I could read the menu and perhaps speak some English without having to worry about being turned away with an empty stomach. Went down to the restaurant and it was full of people. Stood there looking at the menu, pretending like I had a purpose. But really, I was too scared to go in! They would all see me failing at Korean and look at me. (I'm being dramatic, but it was still intimidating.) I left.

Walked around again, looking for somewhere friendly. I avoided the place from yesterday, though. I'm traumatized. Anyhow, I came across this small (hah, 'small' is actually unnecessary because it should be understood that all these stores/shops/restaurants here are small) little hut with BIG pictures of food outside. I was staring at the pictures and the guy there started talking to me. I smiled nervously and he started motioning his hand to the door adjacent to the room he was in. Boo. Then he started talking to these girls behind me and they started doing the same thing! =[[

As it turns out, that was where people sat down and ate. He was just standing in the kitchen xD. I asked the girls if they spoke English and was eventually able to eat ^__^ They had a picture menu!! Picture menus are now the most brilliant thing in the world. Seriously. I ordered a rice'n'beef plate. It was awesome. Got me a picture of the nice girls and even left a tip(hey man, they were nice enough to not turn me away!)

Picked up my luggage, asked for help getting a taxi, and off I was to Yonsei! Got to International House. It's not what I had expected. I guess living in the dorms at Berkeley have raised my standards for a dorm, since they're relatively new. My dormroom is smaller than I'm used to, but that's because my rooms back home have been pretty big. Took a short nap after I unpacked and woke up to a call from Jenny.

She and Eric had just moved in too and so we met up to hang out and explore. This campus is pretty huge. It was quite a trek to get to their dorm, Muak. It's hilly, it's far, and it's hot. Comparable to SoCal's heat. We walked around a bit of the campus and explored the nearby citylife. Holy crap was I thirsty though. I've been thirsty the whole day, actually. I think I may be dehydrated. Maybe it's the food. Iono, but I'm thirsty all the time.

We grabbed drinks from Beans&Berries. checked out the place and then took the long way back to yonsei. walked forever. Went up to Muak and got some food at their cafeteria. Really interesting. It doesn't seem that Korean people drink water! And the cups here are systematically half the size of cups in America. It's weird! So we each got 2 cups of water with our dinner while everyone else had 0. We saw another guy with 2 cups and immediately said that he's American too. Dinner was good. Panchun is standard--very interesting. There are slots on the tray JUST FOR THEM.

Here I am now, sitting in the computer station thing because I don't have my own interwebs. Man I've written a lot, but I feel i could write more. But I'm gonna stop.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0517s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb