New Years


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul
January 8th 2006
Published: January 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I just wanted to add a couple photos from the past few weeks. I'm really getting used to a normal life here, or as normal as possible, but its stange to stay in one place for so long. I just had a week break and stayed around Seoul while most of my coworkers hit the beach in the Philippines. There was a ton to do around here though and I had fun, a little too much maybe. Christmas Eve here is like New years back home, everyone and there mother is out partying, so we went local. Then one of my coworkers had a birthday a few days later. For New Years I went to see some big Italian DJ called Benny Banassi, who was actually really good. During the countdown they had all these guys come down from the ceiling dressed in traditional Korean gear and beating huge drums until the Dj came out, pretty cool.

This week I started work again and its Intensive schedule for the whole month. Korean kids get out of school for Jan., so how do they enjoy this nice long break? By having me, the english speaking monkey, entertain them all day instead of once a week. Its been fun though because I got some interesting new students. They all take an english name and get quite creative with them. One new student calls himseld Paladine and has a brother named Wizard, both from Lord of the Rings. At our school we also have Sunny, Ruby, Mimi and a girl who decided to call herself Tarzan.

The other day I was reading a story to Wizard in class about two friends who meet and go for dinner. After the story he says, "Teacher, I think Anne and Susan are Les-a-bians!"


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.026s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 19; dbt: 0.0098s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb