Bumming around Seoul


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul
December 6th 2005
Published: December 10th 2005
Edit Blog Post


Last Saturday I had to go to foreign teacher conference here in Seoul. So after a long night out on the town I had to wake up at 7am for a 45min subway ride to the other side of seoul with one of my coworkers. We were positive about it though, thinking maybe we would learn some teaching techniques, immigration tips or at least get some free stuff. Boy were we wrong. First of all, there were around 500 teachers at this thing from all over Korea; one girl we met travelled for 3 hours to get there, so no small get-together here. The fiasco started off with a girl reading word-for-word the imigration laws off a handout we already had. After that a guy gave a serious speach with an overhead projection of his outline, that ended with the frame Touch Your Children, to an explosion of laughter. Then a guy got up and gave a speach about all the "shithead" teachers he's met over the last 8 years. Just when I thought my hangover/extreme boredom couldn't get any worse, they pulled out the karaoke machine! I like karaoke as much as any guy, (well actually i hate it) but it was 10am and these people were horrible. So we bolted and went out in search of cell phones. The next day I was on a bus to the DMZ and heard some people talking about the conference. I jumped in and asked them if they had heard the girl sing No Doubt (a really special preformance) and I started laughing. "Yeah" one girl replied, "Thats our friend."


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Subway and the CellphoneSubway and the Cellphone
Subway and the Cellphone

Playing with your cellphone - The National Passtime


12th December 2005

WTF!!!
I hate snow

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0596s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb