O'Doyle Rules


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul
September 19th 2007
Published: September 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

My job has got to be the best job I have ever had. I go to work at 4pm-10pm Mon, Tue, Thurs, and Fri. That's it. 25 hours a week. The kids are so much fun and my coworkers are great. It's the most relaxed atmosphere everyday. Since I was that kid that would never shut up and continuosly got sent to the office for talking, I'm still amazed that I'm actually standing in front of a class teaching kids. I was a terribly behaved student during the middle to high school years. I was all over the place. Never shut up. Now I'm the teacher, and it's really strange. I like cutting up with kids and I get side tracked so easily and start telling some joke or story and the kids eat it up. They want me to stay distracted as long as possible away from the material. We all remember doing that to our teachers.

There is no better place to bomb a funny story or moment than in front of an English class full of Korean teenagers or children. It's THE toughest crowd I have ever been in front of. They stare at me like I'm the culmination of all the stupid things they have ever seen rolled into one fat head teacher. That's me, everyday. I love to make the kids laugh but it's different things that make them laugh. I can tell some story with a great little punch line and perfect comedic timing with no reaction or I can make a funny face or just a sound of hot flatulence and they seem to almost stop breathing from laughing so hard.

It's the greatest job I have ever had. The Korean people are lovely and really embrace you when you open up and start to learn the language, understand the culture, and show respect to your host country graciously.

One of my students the other day, "Teacher teacher, you say you from America, well I lived in America, and I didn't see you."


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

My BirthdayMy Birthday
My Birthday

The kids wrote all over my board for my birthday. I even got a few presents.
Class 201Class 201
Class 201

My class is on the right. #201


23rd September 2007

Ur job rocks!
What a great job! I'm so glad you are loving teaching. Keep sending updates. It's great to see how you're doing.

Tot: 0.166s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 20; qc: 82; dbt: 0.0644s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb