Time Flies


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul » Jongno-gu
July 21st 2010
Published: July 21st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Why is my family so weird? -_-Why is my family so weird? -_-Why is my family so weird? -_-

Visiting Gyeongbokgung Palace with my mom, brother, and brother's girlfriend Heidi back in April
It's been more than 6 months since I've written my last blog and I want to apologize for being so terrible in keeping everyone up-to-date. Although I have been keeping notes and personal journals in order to write complete entries in the future I decided to write one at the moment as well.

As most people may already know, my schooling experience at Yonsei University, South Korea has ended. It was a great experience and like most great experiences, are not realized to be great until they are already passed. It isn't necessarily the education which made this experience so special, but the people and the feeling of growth through times both good and bad. I guess travel really does educate a person, and although a year may not feel to be so long, a lot can happen in that span of time.

School in Asia is just as the stereotypes say: professors talk while students write, memorize, and never question. Although simple, this system of schooling greatly lacks in communication between student and professor. I think this is why students in Asia are very intelligent but at the same time do not have much creativity. Of course this is just a general statement and there are many creative people in this country. They are very capable but at the same time carry a lot of stress. I've heard from countless people that the reason why career choices bring so much stress to an individual is because once a job is chosen it is a lifetime commitment, and while one may have a dream or goal in life, there are so many others competing for the same field that chances of success are much more difficult to come by. That is besides the fact that the literacy rate of South Korea is 99%!

Anyways, aside from education, the people who I met here have been so awesome. I never thought I would meet and make so many friends from all around the world. It is a very strange feeling to realize that at this moment they have all returned to their home countries. In fact, my past roommate and I are the last of the students who came in Fall 2009 who are still living in Korea. I guess we just can't get enough of it 😊 The past year has passed so fast, yet so many things happened to fill the year. I guess making friends during a study abroad program will always be difficult because you will have to say goodbye so quickly. Although sad, it also makes me realize it's difficult to make friends like the ones you have back home.

I hope everyone is doing well and is staying healthy and happy. Here are some pictures to show what I have been up to 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

MatsushimaMatsushima
Matsushima

1st visit to Japan
Korean friends in TokyoKorean friends in Tokyo
Korean friends in Tokyo

My hostel had a lot of Korean people, they never would've expected we had so much in common!
Classic video gamesClassic video games
Classic video games

During my 2nd visit to Japan with roommate Brian, visiting friend Yeongsu's hometown Nagoya
Old meets newOld meets new
Old meets new

Check out the background
Kiki's Delivery ServiceKiki's Delivery Service
Kiki's Delivery Service

This is how to make fun when you travel on a budget ;)
MizuderaMizudera
Mizudera

Why does my butt look so huge??


21st July 2010

See you soon!
I'm glad you had a lot of fun Ramesh. We all really missed you back at home. Hopefully I'll catch you in Highland before I leave!
22nd July 2010

NICE!
Hey There! Your mom shared this with us and I think your pictures awesome. I would have to say my favorite is the "couldn't help myself" one!! NOW THAT IS GOOD! :) So glad to know you had a great time Korea! :) Safe travels back home! I know your mamma misses you! :) :)
25th July 2010

Critique
Ramesh, what a privilege to be traveling. The world has become your text book. What you say about Korean education is true. Any wonder the country ranks very high internationally. America is catching up. Soon common standards of education will be in place in the USA, expecting every K-12/16 student to reach proficient level standards.

Tot: 0.175s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.149s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb