So it's been awhile...


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Jeollanam-do » Mokpo
May 27th 2009
Published: May 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

sleepingsleepingsleeping

sleeping on oedaldo a few weeks back
Well, it's been awhile since I've updated my travel blog.
A lot has been going on. For some highlights:
My good friend John finished his contract a few weeks ago and we had a big weekend long celebration. I think right now he's in Cambodia, he planned on traveling after his contract was up. It was sad to see him go, but he'll be back in a few weeks to get his stuff and hop on an airplane back to the good ol' USA.

The other night while walking home in the middle of the night, with pouring rain and blowing wind that had flipped my umbrella inside out I stepped on a snake. Scared the hell out of me. Of all the things in the world to accidentally stumble upon, a freaking snake. It was pretty long too. I'm lucky it didn't bite me because I couldn't make out what kind of snake it was. Probably poisonous too.

My coteacher Matt wound up doing what's known as a midnight run, and left without a lot of notice almost a month ago. We've had another teacher filling in for his spot and apparently we're going to get someone else
the most tasteful photo of Johnthe most tasteful photo of Johnthe most tasteful photo of John

Believe it or not this is the most tasteful photo I have of John and I.
which is kind of sad because the new teacher is cool.

The weather is getting nice and toasty lately. I've started wearing shortsleeved shirts and the thinnest pair of slacks I own. I ride my bicycle to work and I'm drenched with sweat when I arrive but dry off as fast as I got to work. With the weather getting nicer out, we're going to do more weekend trips to islands nearby.

Next month I'm going to get a new camera, I was tempted to get a cheap one but since I can get a nice camera here for less than back home I'm going to get a good one out here. In a way I feel impotent because the past few weekends when I've gone around and done things I haven't had a camera to take pictures to capture memories and things I'd done.

This upcoming weekend I'm returning to the island of Oedaldo for a dual birthday party.

I reached my six month mark last weekend, and incidentally I went to Oedaldo last weekend as well. I really like going to that island. It's a nice getaway just 50 minutes away by ferry.
map of Oedaldomap of Oedaldomap of Oedaldo

This is a map of where we're going this weekend.




Advertisement



Tot: 0.202s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1476s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb