Mentos and Ice cream: Summer English camp


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Incheon
August 12th 2013
Published: August 12th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Summer English camp was a hit! I learned a lot of things to do and not to do during the winter camp and applied it to the summer camp. I stocked up on Mentos and ice cream for the summer and that seemed to do the trick to get them to behave! I had a sticker chart that had the students names and 2 boxes after their names for the different days of camp for attendance and participation. If they showed up to camp and behaved during camp they got a sticker. If they got a certain amount of stars then they got a different amount of Mentos. If the whole class got a participation star for all 5 days of camp then I would get them ice cream on Friday.

The winter camp was themed day by day and so the kids were doing something random each day and that didn't work so this time I decided to go with a one week theme: Superheroes. Each day was a different sub theme. Superheroes, Superpowers, Origin stories, Super villains. Each day we would take attendance using a sticker chart (which they loved) and then do a powerpoint with some short Youtube video clips and then an activity. Some of the different activities we did were a paper airplane superhero vs supervillains competition, scavenger hunt, and a marshmallow sentence race The last hour of the class I would show them The Incredibles movie and do a review at the end of class to reinforce the story and make sure they paid attention (which wasn't difficult with the movie) They ended up loving the movie and hated when it turned it off at the end of the day.

Overall it went very well and the kids were well behaved. The hardest part is having them listen to me and understand what I am trying to say. I have to explain the rules like 5 times and reenact what I want them to do to make sure everyone gets it. I had about 3 students who were really good at English and really helped me out throughout the camp explaining to the other kids in Korean what I was saying. It was also extremely hot! I have never sweated so much in my life. It is so humid that the sweat just comes from everywhere on your body and there is nothing you can do about it. They said they turned the AC on but it came out lukewarm and was not cold at all. It was horrendous!!

So now another week of deskwarming before the kids come back and I teach about 3 more lesson plans before I leave Korea. Crazy to think that a year has passed by already....


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0442s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb