Oops...forgot about my blog!


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Incheon
July 16th 2013
Published: August 12th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Wow....I just saw that my last entry was April 1st....That's a long time ago! Sorry for keeping everybody out of the loop but not much as really happened and I got really busy at school this semester. Where to start...

The semester has been going well so far. I remained really busy throughout most of it due to an open class which really sucked. An open class is when the other English teachers, vice principal, and the principal come in and observe your class and they also videotape it for the IMOE. (Incheon Metropolitan Office of Education) So basically it has to be perfect or you have to do a refresher course on how to teach. I had the lesson all finished up and ready to go and last minute, Whemi and I decided to do another lesson that would be better and more interesting. Just for the one open class everything got messed up. I ended up practicing on some other classes and then postponing the open class which threw all these classes in for a loop. At the end of everything and how the class scheduling was working out, I was just making lesson plans constantly. As organized as I was, I would still look at my classes and my schedule and realize a day or 2 before that I needed to make another lesson. That is my excuse for not writing in this blog. That, and nothing really exciting had been happening.

For about the past 2 months I had been getting into screen golf close to my apartment. It's a pretty sweet gig. You go into the private, air conditioned room with a set of clubs, computer, golf machine, and a screen and you play a full 18 holes of golf of whichever course in the world that you want to play on. Played Pebble Beach the other week and got +7. How you play: You get 15 minutes to practice hitting the variety of different clubs and then the girl sets you up on whatever course you want to play on. This machine brings a golf ball around and places it on the tee for you and you smack it as hard as you can against this 15x15 canvas screen that shows the course you are playing. There is a high speed camera there that somehow knows how fast and far you've hit it and even if you have sliced or hooked the ball! All for 15,000W ($14) you can have hours of entertainment. She also makes us hard boiled eggs, and jelly toast sandwiches with orange drink and green tea. It's a pretty legitimate setup. It'll be weird to actual play real golf when I come back to the States.

We are nearing the end of the semester and the past couple weeks have been pretty easy and relaxing. The week before the finals, the English teachers like to take my classes to review everything for final or when I do teach, I teach a bomb review game of some sort and hand out a bunch of Mentos to the kids. Then, the week of finals I sit around and plan my English camp. Now we are in the final week of school until they are let out on Friday for a month. Fun lessons, Mentos, and movies are the name of the game this week.

English camp starts on the 22nd and I get to do it with the 1st graders (7th graders). I'm really excited for this because they truly enjoy anything that I teach, love Mentos, and are scared of me. So if I yell, give them 'the look', or slam down the attendance book on the table, they know I'm angry and therefore behave. Whilst the 3rd graders just don't care and are too cool for school. The theme for this summer camp is Superheroes. I have some fun games to play and I'm going to show them The Incredibles movie.

After camp I will be heading to Japan for 11 days to explore Tokyo, Kyoto, Kamakura, and Fujisawa, also climb Mt. Fuji, and stay with a Japanese family for a couple of days. I'm really looking forward to the vacation and looks like I will be busy seeing all there is to see there! We're climbing Mt. Fuji overnight and making it to the summit to witness the sunrise over the clouds so that will be really neat and I'm sure the highlight of the trip!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.051s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb