First 2 week camp completed, 1 of 2


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Incheon
January 8th 2011
Published: January 8th 2011
Edit Blog Post

As I write this entry I have tears in my eyes since I am homesick once again, but overall I think I am doing much better then when I first arrived here. The first 2 week camp is done, and I made it through. I taught my class of kids for 2 weeks, and have a grasp on how to teach in the classroom. The next 2 weeks are a lot less intimidating. Actually, I'm sure it will fly by.

Good points about being at this camp are as follows:
1. Made some new friends - Korean and American, and Chinese
2. Got experience teaching kids, found out it wasn't so bad, so I may
find a job doing that since the hours are better then teaching adults.
3. Will get paid at the end of this.

Not so good points:
1. this place is isolated - the only way to get out is by taxi or
bus, neither of which i'm comfortable navigating by myself at this
point.
2. The schedule is long - I work from 8am to 9pm with a 3 hour break
in the afternoon, and 1 hour for lunch (which I have to eat with the
kids) and dinner. When I'm not working I'm exhausted most of the time
- my other coworkers keep telling me how tired I look.
3. The food is crap - really. Its been hard for me to adjust to,
although I have been able to get out once in a while to buy some
groceries or eat out.
4. This isn't the camps issue, but new years even I was harassed by
one of my coworkers - but they are making him leave today so that is
good.
5. housing - they are so cheap here that they don't turn the heat on
in all the rooms, so for the first week or so I was freezing every
day, especially the cold days when it was -32 degrees F
6. organisation - this place, despite having a good reputation and
being established for over 10 years, is really disorganized. We
teachers get misinformation from our boss and are sometimes left
scrambling to figure out what we are supposed to do.

Non-Camp stuff.

Yesterday I had my first authentic 'Korean' experience. They have
these bath houses that are really cheap - only like 8 bucks - and you
can go and spend as much time as you want, even sleep over night!
When you go in, there are all these different hot baths and saunas,
and heated rooms you can sleep in. I spent 3 hours in one yesterday
and it was really great.

Advertisement



8th January 2011

-32??
Good lord, where the heck are you, Wisconsin?

Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.029s; cc: 7; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0433s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb