First Day Teaching ESL in Korea + Misc Information


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Incheon
August 31st 2009
Published: June 13th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Welcome to Korea!Welcome to Korea!Welcome to Korea!

Grabbing some delicious BBQ
A little info for anyone who may be interested in teaching ESL in Korea. If you want more details about teaching a class, you can also refer to my other entries: Teaching ESL: Korean Open Class, Teaching ESL Camp - Activities, Tips, and Experience

Recruiter or No?
Public School or Hagwon?


I went through a recruiter named Canadian Connection because they had received positive reviews and my initial contact with them over the phone was very pleasant. Follow your gut if you decide to go through a recruiter; if the person sounds like a salesman or a jackass, well, you probably don't want to place your trust in them down the line. There are TONS of jobs available in Korea, so go through someone who inspires trust or take the matter into your own hands. Also, buy your plane tickets yourself! I saved $400 by buying my own ticket and that can go a long way in Korea.

First, you'll decide between working at a hagwon (extracurricular academy) or public school. Hagwons often pay higher, you work later shifts in the day (sometimes to 9 or 10pm), you have a higher chance of working with other foreigners, not as much vacation, smaller classes, and there are higher cases of
Bupyeong (Incheon)Bupyeong (Incheon)Bupyeong (Incheon)

Walking around one of the bigger districts of Incheon to see street vendors and the many other shops, buildings, restaurants in this area.
contracts being broken due to unscrupulous bosses (I know people who have experienced both extremes of great bosses to horrible bosses). I chose a public school because I was weary about the economy and wanted more government backing for the details of my contract. I did begin at Level 2 pay because of my certification/English Lit BA.

My school pays for housing, housing repairs, health insurance, and I get a pension plan. I met tons of people during orientation (90 foreign teachers in attendance, and make sure you share emails before leaving the orientation). I enjoy the earlier hours because I like having evenings open. I get much more vacation time--18 days--and for the remaining seasonal vacations, I waste time in the school sitting in the office, which drives some people restless, but I just write or get more "me" time.

In the end, it's a lucky roll of the die. Some of the foreign teachers working for IMOE (Incheon Metropolitan Office of Education) landed in fantastic schools with great co-teachers, while others land in schools where they end up hating the culture, the people, and the work. Some have to work all the time while others barely lift a finger. Now, I landed in a middle school where I have to do a ton of work compared to other teachers, but I'm also a workaholic, so I didn't mind. I do suffer a lot of unnecessary office politics and drama, but I just try to stand outside of it. The #1 thing about my work are the students and superiors. The students drive me crazy some days, but there's never a day they don't make me laugh, and my vice-principal and principal are VERY COOL (my principal has given us many extra vacation days).

Perks and Difficulties


I think Korea's a great place to work if you want to travel to nearby countries and get paid well. Many teachers are paying off loans back home and still have money left over because the cost of living is pretty low (at least compared to the US, where I'm from). Some have a difficult time with food. The key tactic is finding restaurants with pictures and pointing. Others are vegetarians or vegans and, to be honest, Koreans don't always understand those concepts because most everyone eats some fish or meat in every meal. So, definitely try to
Incheon PortIncheon PortIncheon Port

During quarantine
learn some useful Korean phrases if that's the case.

A lot of teachers also learned to write and read the Korean alphabet which can take as little as a week. Or, you don't have to learn at all because it is so easy to get around with English. I am half-Korean and did have the advantage of knowing the language and loving the food.

Transportation is excellent and affordable here. I usually walk and take the subway station and occasionally use buses to go to Seoul. Almost all forms of transportation take the T-Money card which most people buy at a local convenience store within the subway system when they first arrive (they are everywhere).

What to bring to Korea with you?



• decent wardrobe for the first week of school. I recommend one suit and then nice slacks and a nice shirt, just mix and match after that. That way you can get a better idea of how the dress code is at your school. Usually, they become more relaxed as the school year goes by. Some schools are more lax than others, but generally, Korean work-places look down on the following: low cleavage (even a glimpse of it is not good for your work reputation, their tank tops are very high!), sleeveless shirts, shorts (capris are ok), and then common sense on your part. Funny thing is, you'll probably see shorter skirts and shorts walking the streets here than back at home once the summer comes around. ^^
• Some people recommend bringing small presents for new co-workers, head teachers, vice-principal, and principal. I did in the form of postcards and dream catchers to show some of the Native American culture from Colorado. Some brought small pins from their country of origin, pens, etc. Others didn't bring a thing, and they were fine.
• Adapters (though they do sell them here for cheap, you usually want to bring at least one).
• For women: If you are more shapely, bring enough bras/underwear to last you because most stores are tiny or the designs are uncomfortable. Also, you don't have to bring extra feminine hygiene stuff as they sell all that here.
• For larger people: They may not have your size, or it may take you a while to find a store (for example: I usually wear S-M in the States, but I'm often a L-XL over here) so bring enough clothes to get you through. Don't be afraid to wear the same thing over. And be weary of the washing machines, some of them can wear away your clothes fast!
• An external hard drive or small USB to backup my work (some of the worst horror stories have to do with losing lessons the day you need them, eek~).
• Official documents - you never know when you might need your college transcript, original degree, proof of certification (which is not necessary to work here, it just bumps your pay), etc.
• Comfortable shoes to walk in for work (you'll be standing and teaching). I actually walk about 15-20mins to work everyday so I have to wear comfortable yet decent-looking shoes for work.
• Seasons. Summer is very hot and muggy with unending sweat and rain. Winter is usually not too cold, but it depends on where you're from. Spring/Fall = perfect weather.


Note: Many of these things you can find here, but it will take some time, and you may want to be prepared when you first arrive rather than desperately running around to find what you need. There were plenty of Native Teachers who were freaked
Phallic Glittery Symbol Phallic Glittery Symbol Phallic Glittery Symbol

Outside of Incheon Airport
out and asking me to translate or find needed items within the first month.

Arriving at Incheon Airport


Incheon Airport is supposedly one of the world's #1 airports. I still don't think I've traveled enough to support that opinion, but I do love it's architecture, space, cleanliness, and service. When you look at their Directory Boards, they provide everything from prayer-rooms, showers, jjimjil-bangs (public bath/sauna), hospital rooms, etc.

You'll most likely be meeting someone at the airport, but if not, go straight to the information desk and they can help you find a route to where you are going. Incheon Airport connects straight to the subway. You can go ahead and buy a T-Money card (or purchase a one-way ticket) to get to where you are headed. The subway trains all have English, so don't be afraid of getting lost, you can always backtrack if you miss your stop.

I took a bus-shuttle to a local hotel because I had arrived early. One thing that I do find strange is the very phallic glittery sculpture that symbolizes Incheon Airport on the way out. Priceless.

New Home


There a few places/things you want to find
Kimbab RestaurantKimbab RestaurantKimbab Restaurant

Cheap food that's great for Korea beginners
from the getgo: A Bank (I have Nonghyup, which has worked great, but Woori and KEB seem to receive the best reviews from foreigners); local store (to get any food, shampoo, etc); trash bags (every Korean neighborhood has specific trash bags that have the neighborhood name printed on them. These are usually found at a local Lotte Mart or E-Mart or "something"-Mart); Kimbab 김밥 Restaurant: Kimbab is basically Korean sushi that can be filled with rice and vegetables, or you can add kimchi, tuna, bulgogi (meat), etc. It is a great beginner food for foreigners/vegetarians, just make sure you get the right one. Also, they may have bibimbap, which is hot rice with vegetables and a little meat that isn't extreme for the non-Korean palette); water (most people buy bottled water, it's up to you); toilet paper; and whatever you need for your new home (public schools will provide basic furnishings).

My Experience: First Day of School


My first day of school was interesting to say the least. All Native Teachers had been placed under quarantine upon entering Korea (which is not 100%!t(MISSING)rue because many of us arrived prior to orientation and walked the streets of Korea)
First IntroductionsFirst IntroductionsFirst Introductions

My first Korean co-teacher and the previous Native teacher whom I replaced (and who was a great help, if you can get in touch with the person you are replacing, try!)
because the Swine Flue Epidemic was causing a huge scare everywhere. To make matters worse, I was sick, which terrified my co-teacher on first impression.

Co-Teacher


Now, you have co-workers and then you have a co-teacher. This person is usually your link to the rest of the school. They translate for you and help you get settled (making a bank account, getting an ARC (alien registration card), cell phone, etc. However, you CAN'T take advantage of them and assume they are at your beck and call. Some co-teachers have this job forced upon them! It's inappropriate to call them late at night to say that you're hungry or ask them to change a light bulb.

My first co-teacher definitely had the job forced upon her. She was a new mother and all she wanted to do was work and go home to her baby. So, I had to do my best not to become a burden on her already heavy schedule. Some of my other friends had younger co-teachers who wanted to drink together or go out together, but once again, it's a roll of the die. My second and current co-teacher (you will often have 2 during a year-long stay) is even older, but her kids are graduated and she always wants to drink coffee or grab some authentic cuisine.

ATM Card & ARC (Alien Registration Card)


I had a difficult time at first because my co-teacher had been forced into her job and was very reluctant to spare any time. For official things, I put my foot down. One of the first things was getting a bank account (you will receive an ATM card and ATM booklet similar to a balance book) and applying for an ARC card (when you apply for the ARC, you also want to apply for the multi-entry option as well as asking them to mail it back to you so that you don't have to make a 2nd trip to the immigration office). You also need a phone, so once you get your ARC card you have to RETURN to your bank and put your ARC on file in place of your passport. This is the only way you can get a year-long contract for a cellphone.

When you go to the bank the second time, make an online banking account and I recommend making an initial transfer to your bank back at home. This makes future transfers much easier. You also need a card for online purchases that will make life much easier. This second card (different from your ATM card) gives security numbers when you purchase items online.

Paying Bills in Korea


Finally, when you get your first bill for electricity or gas or whatever, I highly recommend asking your co-teacher to teach you how to pay the bills. There are a few ways: (1)Take time off of work and go to any bank where they will help you, (2)Set it up online, or (3)My favorite way: learn how to pay the bill through an ATM machine. I like this last method because I don't have to worry about extra money going out of my account after my contract ends and it's very quick/effective, plus you can do it after work or on the weekend.

Back to: First Day of School


So, here I was at school after being quarantined for a week during orientation. I was supposed to observe classes to get a feel for what I was getting myself into; however, the teachers were scared because I had a
WorkWorkWork

My middle school
wretched cough, so they continued to quarantine me in my office. The quarantine was pretty silly as we had all gone through required medical checks, but I went with it. Besides, I loved my office.

The bathrooms were squatters, which I had no problem with. But, with my luck, there had been some accident outside of school where a truck had crashed into a power source. This caused my squatter toilet to explode water all over the back of my nice pants and shirt. Good times. It probably isn't as bad as anything you're imagining when you imagine toilet-water exploding, but it was noticeable and humiliating. Fortunately, all the students were in class, so I ran back to the office and told my co-teacher I had to run back home, change and return. And she didn't believe me!

So, we returned to the toilets where she proceeded to flush the water and, of course, no more exploding water. I was very upset with her suspicious nature and about to cry when she washed her hands in the sink, and again, the water exploded. I wonder, did she think that I had thrown water all over my back to
My DeskMy DeskMy Desk

Great office space!
get an hour off of work?

Still, I couldn't go home. We had to wait for the Vice-Principal to approve my departure and return. He was out of the office. So, she went back to her work as I stood waiting. Finally, he returned from lunch and I was allowed to go home for a change of clothes.

I confess, this is probably the worst that can happen to you on your first day of work. I think that was the consensus among my native teacher friends. After sticking it through for over 9 months, I reassure you that work gets easier. You get the hang of things and know when to put your foot down versus holding your tongue.

Working in Korea can definitely test your patience with the language barriers and cultural differences, but ultimately, I think it is a very enriching experience, and the majority of teachers LOVE Korea! You can look at my other entries to see the beautiful or fun side of Korea.

It's a good idea to become friends with other teachers, so you can share lesson plans or teaching ideas down the line. You and your friends will share
My 2nd Year StudentsMy 2nd Year StudentsMy 2nd Year Students

They always make me laugh
the hilarious or heartwarming moments that occur daily:

I almost started crying when my class gave me a gift by singing to me. This is why my students are freaking awesome~ ♥♥♥




I have an English teacher who refuses to speak English to me, yet we get by on pure sign language and facial expressions. She gives me a paper to grade and a bribe in grapes, and I point at the pick-up time. If this weren't middle school, I'd think we were involved in some underhanded dealings. ^^





Me: Wow, so the students have to wear their uniforms on field trips? Co-worker: Yes. We are a group, not individuals Me: (thinking: Communism?) Wow. I just wouldn't want to go hiking in a skirt. Co-worker: It's easier for teachers to keep an eye on students. Me: True. Why not gym clothes? Co-worker: Gym clothes are ugly.





along with the wretched moments that make you want to pick up and leave:


Every morning, the majority of my students convince me into staying at this school. Every afternoon, after dealing with a partial percentage of adults, I think, what in the world was I thinking this morning?





Gave directions to the taxi driver this morning and he just stared at me. I explained, "I'm a foreigner so maybe I'm not saying the directions correctly?" and he cont'd staring. After 1-2mins he yells, "What do you mean you're not Korean! You sound Korean. You look Korean!" He dropped me off a block from work, refusing to take me further. *shocked*


--> This is a particularly rare experience. Most of my experience with taxi drivers has been perfectly polite or even led to some hilarious conversations.


Nervous? We all were.


Here are a few tips to calm your nerves for that first week of real teaching.

Tentative First Lesson
Prepare a tentative first lesson (or pieces of it). I like sharing pictures from back home (on ppt or in a small photo-album). The kids will be incredibly curious and love hearing about where you're from! Make it general so it can apply to any level. It's okay if the students don't understand when you're explaining pictures because they'll be staring at the pictures and in awe of you, *drum roll* "the foreigner"...

Classroom Rules
Go over classroom rules the first day. If you wait till afterward, you've already lost control of your students. Not to add to the pressure, but this is the "first impression" and you want to be stern
DragonflyDragonflyDragonfly

On the way to work
with a smile. Just let them know that you're here to have fun, but you won't tolerate any BS. And as the year goes by, you can become more lenient. Trust me, I've tried it both ways, and most educational guides support this theory.

Back-Up Games
I remember when I first ran into extra time in a lesson and sweat began dropping down my neck. I ran with hang-man, but you may want to improvise with it (make it the hangman being eaten by a shark) or a game that's more interesting that can review material and take up 5-10 mins.

Have a back-up game that you might use in an unexpected class. You can use BINGO, Pictionary (remember, easy words), or Charades. I also brought some UNO cards as back-up and they don't take up much space. They came in handy a few times. Your school will probably have games; otherwise, you can ask them if they'll purchase some (a lot of big bookstores here sell JENGA, UNO, Scrabble, Twister, etc for Winter/Summer Camp). You don't want to pack these games in your suitcase, that's a waste of space.

Resources
Save 2-3 websites where you can find some online lesson plans. No need to bring massive amounts of books/tests/references from your certification class or local bookstore. Save your money and luggage space. Depending on your school, you may already have your lesson plans created, or you may have to create your own every week (like I do). I recommend looking up 2-3 websites that will help you brainstorm ideas. Here are some that have helped me out:

Discovery Education: great resource for making crosswords, wordsearches, double puzzles, etc. I like to cut these out and paste pictures on them so it's more interesting for students. Your school will probably have a great copy center you can use. Works for most levels.

Wikipedia: Word Games: I use this list of games to look at existing word games and try to renovate them into new games. Add balloons, make it into a PPT or handout, create new rules, mesh them together, don't be afraid to create new games! This can be very fun. ^^

Teach English in Asia: I like this website. Teachers post games they use or have made and people comment back on their effectiveness.

Hope this helps! The first week of teaching can be nerve-racking, but you will adjust very quickly.




Korea is full of ups and downs, but with a good group of friends and a lucky roll of the die, it will become one of the most memorable and cherished experiences you can have. 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Subway StationSubway Station
Subway Station

Very clean and efficient


7th July 2010

About to prep myself for Korea too
Heys! just wanted to comment how this blog post was really informative because Im about to go to Korea myself to teach ESL. Its insane you went through Canadian Connections because I went through them as well lol and im also signing up for the Incheon School Board! I hope I get a cool experience like the one your going through right now. If its not to much trouble I was hoping to ask you if there is any advice you could lend me since I'll be jumping onto the same boat as you. Like anything I should bring over from North America that would be hard to find in Korea, or simply make life easier to adjust. Also, since you went through the same recruiter and are in the same school board as Im planning to enter in, how did the setup go with cellphone plans, bank accounts , etc. And yeah how was the condo they set you up in? I still get really nervous that the school board will set me up in some rickty place with roaches or something =( so any advice or tips will help so much, Im excited to go but want to be prepared of course. thanks for reading this! -Brandon
7th July 2010

Brandon
The apartment I got set up in was very nice and one of the most spacious out of a lot of the teachers. On the other hand, I'm also further away from all the "action" so it takes longer for me to get to bustling areas of Incheon like Bupyeong and Art Center. It reaaaally is a roll of the die. Most people I know like their apartments. If you move into an apartment where previous teachers lived, you will most likely have more furniture, too. The really important stuff to bring I listed in the blog (like XL clothes, adaptor, etc). Besides those things, Incheon and Seoul are pretty up to date. You just need to know where your local superstore is. ^^ I grew up with Korean food, so I don't mind the food here, but a lot of people do get homesick for more Western food. If there's a snack you can't live without bring it for down the line. Otherwise, get a Costco membership when you come here. IMOE does a great orientation, so make sure you keep in touch with people from orientation, they will become your friends, your support group, and you can probably help each other with lesson plans down the line. For the most part, I got situated fine when it came to banking, phone, and arc. Keep in mind, it does take time (sometimes up to a month) to get everything set-up. All of this heavily depends on your co-teacher. When you have an experience co-teacher, getting situated is much easier and smoother. My co-teacher was new, so she did make mistakes every once in awhile, but I had to be understanding and realize it was her first time as a co-teacher, too. ^^ I really think you will be fine with the apt. It may seem small compared to Western standards, but you should adjust quickly. If you have any specific questions, feel free to ask me. And I'm sure there will be more once you arrive, so I can probably help you more then. ^^ Do you know what level you are teaching??
11th September 2010

Thanks this was great! I made it through my first week and I can't believe it.. Now it's time to start teaching for real.
23rd September 2010

teaching language
Korean teaching positions offer great benefits: a good salary, generous paid vacation, entrance and exit allowances and free housing and medical care. Not just an opportunity to teach abroad, it is the chance to truly immerse yourself in a new culture, experience a different way of life, build friendships that will last a lifetime and discover your own potential. In relation to this, you may want to visit our online English academy is bases in Cebu City, Philippines. It is an institution with competent, effective, and efficient ESL teachers well-equipped to provide easy and fun way of learning English at a minimum amount of time per session.
25th March 2011

Excellent!
Always glad to hear feedback. Have an exciting teaching adventure!
25th March 2011

Korea or somewhere else?
(I suspect the recent comment was a marketing ploy, but along the lines of the subject...) Every country with ESL opportunities offers something unique and different be it money, culture, challenges, or memories. There seems to be something about Korea that creates deeply cherished frienships among expats--this is something quite unique that I think is worth experiencing at least once in one's lifetime--and though I can only compare with Malaysia and the US thus far, I've heard this confirmed from other ESL teachers with more global experience. Whatever this "something" is, it leads to friendships that last past decades.

Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 11; qc: 27; dbt: 0.034s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.3mb