One night in South Korea


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Incheon
March 18th 2010
Published: March 18th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Panorama - This is a picture of the Buddhist Monastery on the hill behind Songdo

Day 1 You really don't know what you're going to get when you buy an airfare with a stopover in Korea. It took some questions to learn that Korean Airlines will be putting us somewhere with meals included. Now, in my experience to date, it could mean a bowl of noodles at a corner restaurant where the bus driver gets a commission. But I have to say that Korean Airlines are on the marketing campaign to have more people stay in Korea instead of flying out next day.

We were put in the Ramada Songdo, a small tourist village on the outskirts of Incheon. Our dinner was a grand display of international foods in a buffet. Delicious! Our rooms are extravagant with a view to the hills. It was lightly snowing so the picture from our window showed a wonderland with neon lights. Breakfast this morning was catered for too...another buffet.

I met David, a young Hungarian who's been living in Australia for 18 months studying English. He joined me on a quick walk up the hill to the monastery, in the cold, in the snow. He may have been thinking on the way up, Gee I wish I'd stayed at the hotel, but it was worth the 15 min walk. The monks were in morning chant and as usual with monasteries and temples there was a serenity about it. We were alone apart from the gardener. The melodious monks were in full voice and it was a great way to spend the few hours in this country.

From the temple grounds we could look far in the distance to see the characteristic signs of population. The tall apartment buildings and downtown office buildings. I'm glad we stayed in Songdo instead on in there.

Off to the airport for the 2nd leg of the journey to London.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Me and Anna ready for dinnerMe and Anna ready for dinner
Me and Anna ready for dinner

Anna is from Germany and a real laugh.
Yes, I am here in KoreaYes, I am here in Korea
Yes, I am here in Korea

yesterday Australia, seems weird
pilgrim statue with giant footpilgrim statue with giant foot
pilgrim statue with giant foot

I'm sure I'll feel like this after my camino in Spain
battle of the religionsbattle of the religions
battle of the religions

the Monastery in the distance


Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0612s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb