The Intrepid traveler


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Incheon
October 2nd 2008
Published: October 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

My School ANES AcadamyMy School ANES AcadamyMy School ANES Acadamy

The entrance of My School
The working world - Week two

I started my 1st week of teaching. In Korea you add one year onto your age so I have discovered that I am teaching 5, 6 and 7 year olds and not 6, 7 and 8 year olds (doesn’t sound like a big diff but it is). The kids here are very sweet but they don’t stop screaming and they are mini robots. Its pretty chilled cause I have 1 book that I have to teach them in a month so pretty easy game and the robot nature in them helps them memorize things fast but since they have been taught English in Korean for so long it’s a challenge to get them to understand what they are reading and not only memorize. I can already see progress though cause when they don’t have their Korean teacher as a crutch its amazing what they can do and understand! It’s been nice so far cause classes are only 20mins long and there is the Korean teacher in the class to help if I really need. I have no doubt that after this 1st month is done it will be a piece of cake. The kids
My SchoolMy SchoolMy School

The school reception. Don't forget to take off your shoes!
at the ANES school where I am at are really well behaved and while they do randomly mill in and out of class and, as I said scream a lot, they really want to learn and they love singing songs and working with me. Today, however, I took a trip to the 2nd of the 3 schools owned by my principle. This school is even more amazing the facilities are unreal (I’ll take picks next month). I’ll teach two classes there once a month and if today is anything to go by I’ll be thankful its only the two classes a month cause the kids were horrid! I was so glad to be back at ANES!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

My SchoolMy School
My School

The passage that all classrooms lead off. Its a very small school.
My SchoolMy School
My School

All the classes are named after artists its very sweat!
My SchoolMy School
My School

Some of the very noisy kids!
My SchoolMy School
My School

Some more noisy kids!
My SchoolMy School
My School

The language lab where I do a lot of my classes
My SchoolMy School
My School

The princaples office and reception area
My SchoolMy School
My School

The play room or PE area. This is quite a random conceppt to me, no out doors, but many of these kids come to the acadamy after their normal school, in the afternoon, otherwise they are small kids between the ages of 4 and 7 so I suppose they playoutside oon the weekends??? who knows!


Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 17; qc: 88; dbt: 0.0844s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb