Highlight of the Week


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Incheon
October 8th 2008
Published: October 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This week is supposed to be my YAY KOREA week. I'm invoking the SECRET and using the power of positive thinking. I'm going to WILL Korea into something better than it actually is. BUT I have to tell you, I think it's actually working a little bit.

It officially started on Sunday when I was on the train coming back from Pusan. A little Korean girl was sitting in front of me very interested in the foreigners (us) behind her. We said hi. She said hi. Then, we started playing a card game. She then turned around and proceeded to ask us what game we were playing. This turned into a very chatty conversation and it turns out this little girl can speak more English than any of my co-teachers. As a matter of fact, this little girl spoke more English then my entire school of 1,000 boys altogether in a month. So she's chatting away...actually, she even starts teaching me Korean. She taught me the name of chocolate chip cookies and how to say 5,000 won. I already forgot. I'm a bad bad student.

Anyway, the train lady walks by and we ask her if there are any table seats available. Table seating has seats facing each other and a table in the middle. The woman looks at us like we were talking about windsurfing or marine biology, something completely off topic. We are making hand gestures, 4 SEATS, TABLE, pointing down the aisle to a table seat. She is looking at us like we're aliens. The little girl overhears and says "aaaaah" like she understands. I ask her to translate so she does. Our faces dropped as this 6 year old (7 in Korean age) is translating our request for this 25 year old woman, who 1) works for the national train service, and 2) has probably taken more years of English classes than this girl has been alive for.

There is hope for the Korea. In the children...anyone over the age of 10 should just give up now. SEE THE POSITIVE IN THAT STORY! 😊

Also part of my YAY KOREA week is the beginning of my Taekwondo classes. I started yesterday and had tons of fun. They were kind enough to give us all Taekwondo uniforms so we get all decked out to beat each other up. We practiced kicking yesterday. It was good fun.

Tonight, I will be going to a hookah bar. You see, I'm going to WILL Korea into a great place to be. God, I miss Hawaii.


Advertisement



22nd October 2008

See!
It worked! You are having a better time. Love your writings. Will come back for more :)

Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0358s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb