Weekend in Busan


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Busan
October 6th 2008
Published: October 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Another crazy weekend full of trials and tribulations was had by all. We chose to go to the Pusan International Film Festival all the way on the other side of the country this past weekend. The weekend starts off great with the three of us missing our 1200 train to Pusan. We got there as the clock struck 1200 but the train was long gone...there wasn't even traces of a train. How does a train leave EARLY? Only in Korea. Luckily, we were able to exchange our tickets for a later train with a small extra charge.

So, we get on the train at 3:40pm and we get into Pusan sometime in the evening. Our lovely friend Teresa, who lives in Pusan meets us and takes us to our love motel. Our first room is cute complete with a king size bed, flower bedding, big screen TV, and tub with jets but no computer. The computer is detrimental so we ask to for a room change. The next room we get moved to is more or less the same with ONE EXCEPTION. There is a HUGE half-naked girl in a mirror on the ceiling that lights up. At this point, I AM really turned on.

We decide to go to the bars near the beach. Thursday Party. I later find out that Thursday Party is a chain of bars. I saw 3 of them! I meet this Finnish guy who I have a conversation with but he wanted to go home and drink wine, and I said um, NO. So I find my friends in some club called Vinyl playing horrible techno or something. Let me just say that I WAS drunk at 10pm. Everyone else however, did not get drunk until like 2:30am. By that time, I was stone-cold sober. I'm trying to get people home and everyone is running around like boy crazy monkeys. You'd think they had never seen a boy before. I don't get home until 430am. I get laughed at the next day.

The next day, we manage to get some tickets for a movie, a double feature at an outdoor theatre as a matter of fact. Then we sat on the beach for awhile. That was probably the saddest yet most enjoyable part. Loved it because I love water and sand. Made me sad because I miss Hawaii, it just doesn't compare. We mosey along to the movie early to get good seats. It was a animated Japanese movie about jet fighters. Maybe exciting? NO. It was the most boring goddamn thing any of us have EVER seen! We are so noisy that we are pissing everyone around us off. But I should mention that noise didn't really matter in this movie, it was SUBTITLED in Korean and English so unless anyone there was practicing their Japanese, you really didn't need to hear the movie. It was so bad the film projector melted itself halfway through the movie. Surprisingly, we stayed until they got it up and running again but left as soon as we realized they were going to play the same movie. We thought MAYBE they would just start the second one. Funny thing was, right near the end as we were walking out, we finally caught on to what was happening and wanted to watch the end. But overall, that story could have been told better.

We hear there's some club that's holding an all you can eat BBQ, so the girls want to head over there. We get there and it's empty. There's no BBQ. BUT...there is an 80s retro party and a $15 all you can drink deal. If there is heaven in Korea, this was it. First night out I might have actually enjoyed thoroughly. Even being dragged home by my friend at 430am in the morning was fun.

I'm pretty sure I drunk dialed a couple of lucky people. Screamed into Tom's answering machine. It was good. Highlight of the weekend to come in a separate blog.






Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0496s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb