Flip Cup in Seoul


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul » Itaewon
September 29th 2008
Published: September 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Okay, so the days are way too busy and exhausting for me to post regularly but in a couple of weeks, my students are going into exam time which means that they don't have classes. So I will be sitting at school on my ass doing shit all. At the moment, I'm also trying to post photos on facebook so there's some proof that I'm actually here and not just hiding in my basement in Toronto unemployed.

The kids are still unruly. I'm pretty sure someone last week called me an asshole although they wouldn't dare say it to my face. It's probably because they did nothing in class and I told them they all had to do written work instead. I'm just not buying that these kids don't know how to make sentences. I've seen their English textbooks.

Anyway, some of the co-teachers have become even more useless if that's possible. But enough griping because this shit ain't gonna change.

On the weekend, I went down to Seoul for some Itaewon fun. We went to Mama African, a Nigerian restaurant I was told. The food was pretty basic but extremely spicy and good. I had beans and rice. It's better than any of the Korean shit people have been trying to feed me. Then, we proceeded to Wolfgang's, an Irish pub, where I was told that I STARTED a game of flip cup and was actually INSTRUCTING people. So, long story short...chugging beer and flipping cups = one smashed Lynn. Oh, I won't even mention the classic asshole that was at the pub, running around sticking his ass in people's faces and molesting girls. That is obviously the kind of guy who came to Korea because there is just no way he would have survived back home. Here, the Koreans must excuse him because he's a foreigner and he appears to be developmentally challenged. The poor Koreans don't know any better. I contemplated pushing him down the stairs. That's bad right? Like homicidally bad?

Anyway, great pub for anyone who is ever homesick. They even played The Cure. How many places play The Cure back home? (like 1/75 pubs maybe). I was drunky like a monkey, had empanadas at a restaurant run by Paraguayians? Paraguayese? I don't know but it was delish. Then, I got this great drunk idea to stay at a love motel, so I basically ran into the first love motel I saw hoping for a jacuzzi. That's why I wanted to go. Koreans have a shortage of private space to have sex in. So, they have "love motels", which are really kind of decked out. Big screen TV, tubs (a luxury in Korea), and a huge bed. It was sleaze for $25 BUT I watched Pirates of the Caribbean and heard some Korean sex. Sounds like baby animals being killed. Enough said about that.

This weekend is yet ANOTHER long weekend. Yet if you had to put up with what I have to put up with, you would need a long weekend twice a month too. I have a train ticket for Pusan for the international film festival. Looks like fun, I have to get my fill of movies in since there really don't have any movies in the theatres here. OH but you can go to a DVD bong, which is a room that you can watch DVDs in but I was told that it's just a cheap place where you can do the dirty. HORNY country.





Advertisement



Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0707s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb