Kimchee Anyone?


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Incheon
November 20th 2005
Published: November 20th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Happy Sunday morning to everyone from Korea. Although it looks like an unhappy Sunday afternoon in East Lansing as the Spartans are behind in both their "currently in progess" football game and basketball game. Hopefully we can pull out a win

We're back in Seoul Incheon Airport for a 2 1/2 hour layover. Both the flight from Samui to Bangkok and Bangkok to Seoul went very quickly. We still have the longest flight ahead of us which will board in two hours. Bangkok Airport was hellish bureaucracy -at least four different checkpoints we had to wait through. However, I apparently didn't get busted with the wooden Buddha I brought out of the country without a permit (not quite sure how strictly they enforce that law since my Buddha is not an antiquity). However, I put it in my checked baggage and never got called so I think I'm in the clear.

The amount of people on the plane from Bangkok sporting Puma shoes, Diesel sportsware, and Louis Vitton bags was amusing. It's all fake of course and sold all over Thailand for about 10% of what a real item would cost in the USA. My guess is that a lot of these folks will wear their pirated clothes, shoes, bags and walk right through US Customs without any problems. Otherwise, they would be stopping 50% of the people coming back from China, India, and Southeast Asia.

We're both sad to be done with our trip after a year of planning -but now I have Machu Pichu (Peru) to plan for November 2006 since Colin's selected that as his pick for our big trip next year. I'll have enough frequent flier miles on Delta from this trip and my credit card rewards miles to fund 100% of my ticket. It'll be a lot cheaper than Thailand -not that Thailand was expensive. More about in the final post when I'm back in East Lansing.

Okay, time to get going. I'm surprised Korea doesn't have snow yet. I see the weather report for today in East Lansing (actually tomorrow since it's still Saturday night where you are) is sunny and in the low 40s, so we should have a safe drive home from O'Hare.

Mom, I'll be coming to Saginaw and then Higgins. I'll call you when we leave O'Hare if my cell phone has a charge. If not, I'll call from East Lansing mid-afternoon on Sunday.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0283s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb