Arrived at Last


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Incheon
April 11th 2008
Published: April 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well, I have finally made it to Korea, and my mind has been officially blown. It's been an eye opening experience for me as soon as I stepped of the plane. Not only am I the only person I have talked to that speaks english, but apparently I am the first westerner some of these people have ever seen. The place is quite busy and it all looks the same.
After I got off the plane there was nobody in sight to pick me up, so there I was with a thumb and a bum...so what do you think comes next.....lol Anyway, after a little while the guy picks me up in what looked like a toyota camry and he has his wife with him. So do the math, a years worth of luggage, johnny Yoon and his wife a poor old me sitting on my luggae in the back seat. And after all that, where does he take me but to the school to meet my new boss. Feeling a little underdressed with my track pants I had been wearing for the last 24 hours and tired as hell I went and spoke with him, great guy by the way, and then it was off to my new apartment.
When we got there I thought maybe a room was missing because there was no bed, no tv and no fridge. WTF?? He said he's be back a with a bed and he didnt lie, at least I have something to sleep on now, but I have no computer or anything because I cant find an adapter in this place anywhere, not to mention nobody has any idea what I'm asking them anyway.
Whatever, so after the bed guys came and put it together I went for a classic Korean Dinner with my new boss and his wife and stuggled with the chopsticks while they made fun of me in Korean....no harm though, I am a better hockey player than both of them so they have nuthin on me.
One thing I overlooked was a clock, I finally got one this morning but I went outside thinking it was 9am and it was like 615....note to self, sun comes up early.
So, it's been an adventure thus far, I just hope I can either learn the language fast or meet somebody who I can talk with in English soon. Hope everybody is well and dont be afraid to write back.


Advertisement



14th April 2008

Sounds pretty daunting but so cool!!! Amazing that you are experiencing this!!! Looking forward to reading your blog

Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0366s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 3; ; mem: 1.1mb