I've Finally Arrived in Seoul, SK!!


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Incheon
August 28th 2005
Published: September 17th 2005
Edit Blog Post

I arrived in Seoul, South Korea after a very very long flight. I had to change planes twice and had a two hour layover both in Chicago and Tokyo. I had randomly started talking to a girl who was boarding the plane to go to Tokyo at the same time as me. I asked her if her name was Olivia because I knew that a couple was going to be on that plane with me who was going to be teaching at the same school as I. Indeed, I guessed correctly because there was only a few foreigners boarding the plane. I also saw her Canadian passport at the check in. I had them to talk to on the long layover in Tokyo. Olivia and I had a lot to talk about on the plane. We stood in the back of the plane talking for about an hour or more about our unknown futures in Seoul land. It was so exciting. I had a chance to look out the window and I could see the ocean below. I also felt so high riding on the white clouds. If you've ever flown you know the feeling. As you can probably suspect, I only got about three hours sleep from Chicago to Tokyo. Being a thirteen hour flight, I as well as Olivia and her boyfriend were exhausted.

Our layover in Tokyo was uneventful. Although I started feeling like a complete minority. There was only about ten or so foreigners on that plane. I felt like a zombie on the plane to Seoul from Tokyo. I half slept but was still awake. I tried hard to look out the window when we were close to Incheon airport. I saw some lights which I found out later was on of the main bridges into Seoul from Incheon airport. Finally we landed. I shouted a little yahoo on the plane. Although not many people looked at me. The Koreans were probably thinking to themselves that another crazy foreigner was coming to live in Seoul.

Oh well, we passed through customs no problem. We went to pick up our suitcases and Olivia couldn't find one of her suitcases. She had to fill out a form and it took awhile. At this time I was a complete zombie who had sleep on my mind. We finally found a exchange place and got some Won currency before we walked out the arrival gate. I looked at the won a little shocked because you get like 10,000 bills and 5,000 bills. I really hoped that it was worth what 10,000 would be in Canada. Although, I knew it was highly doubtful. Anyway, by this time Josh was already out the arrival gate and Mr. Yu already spotted him. We came out and were yelled over to them. Mr. Yu didn't speak much english. He just said to follow him. As I walked out of the airport. I was hit with such intense heat and humidity I was overwhelmed. Seoul as I've found out over the weeks has a very high humidity level. Even more than in Canada.

The ride into Seoul was very long but, I got to sit in the front seat of the van. I tried to talk to Mr. Yu a little bit but he didn't say to much. It was late at night so it was so cool to see all the bridges lit up. The highway was really crowded and I was just observing the different licence plates and all the advertisements off the road on high signs. Mr. Yu took us past the school we were going to teach at and everything just seemed blurred at that point. I was staying with the couple Olivia and Josh for three days before I moved into my regular apartment. We pulled onto a side road which was narrow, windy and hilly. We pulled off on the side of the road and the men took up our suitcases. We were staying on the third floor so it must of been backbreaking for them to carry our 70 pound suitcases up the stairs. The apartment was really small and dirty. We talked for a bit and then my foreign supervisor came into say Hi. He asked if we wanted to go and eat. It was after ten by this time. Josh and Olivia said no but, I said "hell, why not." I was so exhausted but, I was so curious to see a bit of the area.

We walked to a Korean restaurant and I felt like I was in another world. I guess I really was in a totally different culture. The smells were pretty gross as the sewers smelled and the humidity just brought all the smells out into the air. At the Korean restaurant I was so shocked to see my supervisor speaking Korean and not seeing any English being spoken. I was a bit intimidated. My supervisor ordered me "Bibimbab" which is rice with vegetables. I had eaten at a Korean restaurant in Canada about three times and it was a dish I had liked. Although, when I tasted the Bibimbab, I thought it was so super spicy. I almost died!! I couldn't eat it. I felt bad as My supervisor had bought it for me but, he said "don't worry about it, it is really cheap." He then ordered me 'Kimbab' which is like sushi but with vegetables. He thought I would like it cause it wasn't spicy! Wrong!!We took it to go and once I arrived home I tried it and I didn't like it either. I guess it was way to soon to try Korean food! What a first night experience. I got home and hit the bed. I slept till llam the next day.


Advertisement



19th September 2005

Hi Jody, I can't believe you're actually in Seoul. I'm so glad you've got this diary going so I can find out all about what you're doing and what it's like. well done for organising it all I am impressed and think you are very brave. anyway, hope you are having fun!! Michelle

Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0268s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb