My Golden holidays


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Gyeongsangnam-do
May 14th 2008
Published: May 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: From admiral Lee 25 secs
To me, Last weekend, May 12th, Buddha's birthday and May 13th, school holiday are Golden holidays. so I went to meet my second elder brother who work for Han-san middle school that is located in the Han-san island in southern sea(South sea) in Korea.
My second elder brother was bank clerk. He had worked for Nonghyup bank(farmer's bank) in Gyeong-san city(near Dae-gu) for 10 years since 1995. he retired from the bank on 2005. after then, He had struggled to pass the exam to be a low rank official of Education office for two years. finally, He passed the exam to be a low rank official of Gyeongsangnam-do Education office. He has worked for Han-san middle school in Han-san island, Gyeongsangnam-do since July 1st, 2007.
My brother likes play tennis very much. He very often playes tennis double match with his school teachers after school. during my holidays, staying 3days in his school. I played tennis with my elder brother in his school tennis court. and travelled the Han-san island together.
To arrive his school, I must loaded my car in the Ferry boat to Han-san island. when landing on the Han-san island, I got out of the Ferry boat. I drove my car to Han-san middle school along the seashore road of the Han-san island. He welcomed me. It was the second visit for him.
For three days, we ate sea foods and raw fish. He cooked seashell for me. we visited the victory memorial tower for the admiral Lee Soon-Shin, the Korean national hero and his general staff headquarter(制勝堂,It mean "naval office room to make a victory battle plan", now this place is his shrine). the admiral Lee Soon-Shin was Korean national hero in the war with Japan(1592-1598). About 415 years ago, He stopped the moving forward of the Japanese naval fleets. the admiral Lee and his brave men defended their country against the brutal attack of the Japanese army and navy forces. the admiral Lee died to shoot down his last naval battle. He and his men gained runaway victories to the Japanese navy during war time with Japan.
I visited this historical place and historical naval battle sites of 415 years ago with my second elder brother.



Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

my car loaded on the Ferrymy car loaded on the Ferry
my car loaded on the Ferry

I loaded my car in this ferry boat
my seaway to my brothermy seaway to my brother
my seaway to my brother

It took 20 minutes to land on the Hansan island from port by the ferry boat.
Me in the naval battle siteMe in the naval battle site
Me in the naval battle site

there was a naval battle site behind me.
the sea entrnace to his shrinethe sea entrnace to his shrine
the sea entrnace to his shrine

the sea entrance to admiral Lee's shrine(now).
good scenerygood scenery
good scenery

seaside in the Han-san island
closed classroomclosed classroom
closed classroom

the blackboard is fallen down. It is so pity!
closed school #1closed school #1
closed school #1

the closed elementary school.
another closed school #2another closed school #2
another closed school #2

another closed elementary school. I can see two closed elemetary school in this island. maybe, the number of the closed school will be increasing.
closed teachers' houseclosed teachers' house
closed teachers' house

tens years ago, teachers lived in this house. now, this house is empty.


16th May 2008

Great Blog
Hi Big Brother, it sounds like you had a very enjoyable and relaxing holiday with your brother. I've never heard of this island, I will have to look it up on the internet and get some information about it. My mother is coming over from Australia to visit me in the summer holidays and I am researching interesting places in Korea for us to visit together! It is always interesting to read you blog and see what you have been up to. :o) Cheers, Belinda
19th May 2008

Hi Belinda!
Thank you reading my articles in my blog. It is good news for you that your mother will visit Gunwi, South Korea. I hope you will find some good places to visit with your mother during your summer vacation. Good luck and good health for you.

Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0354s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb