Healing knee and learning Korean


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Gyeongsangnam-do » Yangsan
October 13th 2010
Published: October 13th 2010
Edit Blog Post

shoesshoesshoes

at my front door (when we had game night at my place)
Annyeong haseyo!! So I'm getting less homesick these days and embracing being here more each day 😊. Although I still miss everyone so much (but I'm lucky that I miss you all so much because it means that I have an amazing life filled with incredibly wonderful people 😉).

So I wanted to include a few interesting and or funny things about my hospital experience... First of all my co teacher informed me that I would have to bring my own chopsticks and spoon to the hospital (thought that was interesante). Everyone ended up being super nice at the hospital- one of the male nurses held my hand for a few moments before surgery :*)... after the anesthesia started taking affect the anesthesiologist pinched my leg and asked "can you feel?" and I said no and then he pinched my arm and asked "can you feel?" (haha). So the next incident was and still kind of is creepy to me... so I was just hanging out as they were prepping me for surgery and all of a sudden I see something in front of me- at the top of the curtain that is in front of my chest so I
Tim, Lara, Cedric, Sandy, DanielleTim, Lara, Cedric, Sandy, DanielleTim, Lara, Cedric, Sandy, Danielle

Sitting on my bed.. (Sandy is the other English teacher that comes weds and thurs)
cant see the surgery- and I'm wondering, "what's that in front of the nurses face???" And then I realized it was my foot!!!! all wrapped up so I didn't recognize it and couldn't feel it at all.... :/ - they were "painting" my whole leg with that brown antibacterial stuff and lifted my leg up to do the bottom haha. The last thing was after a few hours after surgery Lara came to visit me 😊 and then my leg started to hurt so I asked her to get the nurse so the nurse comes in and for some reason they can't give oral pain relievers at hospitals... ? So she says she can give me an injection in my butt... I say okay, she leaves to get it and comes back with the syringe and tells me to turn on my side- all normal so far, right? Then, she starts slapping my butt in a patterned sequence (probably about 15 times!) HaHA!! Lara's in the background cracking up! And even though my leg hurt the shot didn't hurt at all and it totally made me laugh too 😊 So I would highly recommend to you to ask the doctor to slap you at the same time you get a shot next time 😉.

One thing that I realized after Lara left the hospital was how thankful that Lara was there to help translate to the nurse (Lara's Korean is pretty good)- but then was thinking about how it would've worked out even if she wasn't there and I would probably still be grateful for something else 😊😊. And so no matter what there will always be something to be thankful for 😊. And maybe sometimes you won't be able to see it at the moment but you will later 😊.

I'm learning more Korean as well... now that I've been home a lot more because I'm using crutches I decided to make something "good" out of something "bad" and take it as an opportunity to study Korean 😊- Ben you just wrote to me suggesting this- great minds think alike 😉... So I decided last Mondayish that I would dedicate time each day to learn more of the Korean language and literally that same day as I was studying at my apartment my doorbell rang and a man asked to come in and that he could teach
Steve and PeteSteve and PeteSteve and Pete

new foreign friends... from England :) really funny and nice - like my favorite Brit ;) hi Oli :)
me Korean, haha!... It was the real estate agent for my building who accidently opened my door two days prior because he was showing the room next to mine and so he was back to say sorry again and also to ask if I could teach him English and he could teach me Korean "win win" was his description of the situation 😊. So basically he wants to take me around Korea- like Tongdosa temple and Haeundae beach 😊😊. We went to dinner last Sunday and it was really fun- he brought a few friends and I invited Lara.

Last Thursday a bunch of my foreign friends came over (new ones as well 😊) and we played some board games and had some fun 😊 We are going to get together this Friday and go to Noraebang (karaoke!!! 😊!!) Yey!

Much love to you from Korea!!! 😊😊😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

TKTK
TK

from South Africa... sooo nice :)
My aparmentMy aparment
My aparment

or one-room as they call it here


13th October 2010

Andrea, it's so nice to hear about your new journey. Glad to hear you had a pleasant hospital experience. I have another friend also teaching English there. You're making want to pack up my belongings and go.
14th October 2010

Love the wallpaper and the shoes, only you could make a kind of scary story funny! I'm glad your knee is doing well and you are also learning Korean. All's good here Rosemarie is flying in on Sunday, I will share your blog with her. Take care and always know we love you and send you lots of good everything, Aunt Carolina
15th October 2010

Butt slapping good times!
Oh my god, I totally laughed out loud with you (belatedly) about the nurse slapping your butt 15 times before she gave you the shot!!!! I'm still laughing...and it makes my belly shake like Santa Claus. ;D I love the pics of your friends! Oli is asleep right now but I will show him your shout out on the Brit boys pic. :)) Are they there for long or traveling through? Mmmmm...the real estate guy (creepo) "accidentally" opened your door?? Does he have a key to your apartmento? That would be not so good I think. I wasn't sure if he was the real estate guy for your apartment building or not. You should set a booby trap for him just in case! Put a bucket of octopus ink above the door or something. ;) I love you Anji! I'm so glad you are having fun and keeping such a bright outlook on life. What an incredible experience all around. Ps- I'm still giggling about the butt slaps...and will do so all week I think. When I go into labor I will think of that nursing strategy and laugh and feel better. ;) Love you love you love you, Bridge

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 7; qc: 52; dbt: 0.052s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb