How Drea got her groove back ;)


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Gyeongsangnam-do » Yangsan
November 18th 2010
Published: November 23rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Soooooo I can walk!!!!!!!!!! :D!! yey!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! the six weeks didn't go by too slow but the last few days have been really challenging :/ but I made it and everything worked out- like it always does 😊. I feel such a magnificent sense of liberation and I am so excited that my exploration of Korea will again commence in the next weeks and months :D. I hope that I always remember to be grateful for and excited about the plethora of wonderful gifts that life has bestowed upon me - among those gifts are a healthy body and mind 😊 as well as the immaculate Earth that I get to experience -even be thankful for the sad times and hardships because those times have the ability to bring new growth and new appreciation of all the good there is.
This weekend I am going with some friends to a beach in Busan to watch a beautiful sunset to celebrate the absence of my crutches :D

So it is now the week after that weekend I was just writing about 😊 and we ended up going to a different beach because the weather was kind of cloudy so plans changed (will see a sunset soon 😊) we ended up going to Gwangali beach (still in Busan) and then to the "foreigner's district" haha It was sooo weird to see so many foreigners- from all over (Canada, UK, South Africa, America, Australia, etc). The experience made me think of the story of how some of the little people in the Wizard of Oz "went crazy" because they had never been around so many other little people in their life.. haha, I don't know the exact story but it was really weird to see so many non-Koreans 😊.

So I was feeling really irritable and homesick the past few days and decided to look up "culture shock" on the internet... these feelings go with the timeline for culture shock so it made me feel mo betta 😊. I feel great today, but I'm sure it will come in phases. It's a good reminder to live in the moment and embrace life where I am at all times... there will always be "the next thing" to look forward to but now is that next thing that I was looking forward to before so just remember that these are "the good ol' days" and focus on all the good. I was listening to a CD yesterday (thanks SUZ!!!! 😊) and it was talking about the "wisdom of uncertainty". It spoke of a story about a Buddhist woman who left the monastery to become a Christian nun and then she came back and was trying to preach Christianity to the monks. The monks went to their teacher and were asking how she could think this way and do these things and the teacher said, "Maybe she's right" with a smile 😊. 😊 It feels good to give up the resistance 😊.
Last thing I will write about for this blog is how I started acupuncture last week :D. I really like it and LOVE the doctor 😊😊😊 She is so sweet and was really comprehensive- when I had my initial appointment with her she pushed on different areas of my stomach, looked at my tongue, asked me a bunch of different questions about my life, etc. 😊 The needles don't really hurt but a few do :/ but not too bad- she said that I am a good patient because I have a high tolerance to pain, haha 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 42, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

The other two guardsThe other two guards
The other two guards

You have to bow to them or they will come after you... not very Buddhist in my opinion... haha
"Hyun gyo <3 So yung" :)"Hyun gyo <3 So yung" :)
"Hyun gyo <3 So yung" :)

a rock by the river walking up to Tongdosa... PS I can read and write Korean :D!!
Danielle and IDanielle and I
Danielle and I

My favorite friend in Korea :) she is hilarious!... hopefully none of my other foreign friends see this blog, ha.
the hike up to the temple :Dthe hike up to the temple :D
the hike up to the temple :D

I love it I love it I love it!!!!
that's how they Taekwondo-it in Korea ;)that's how they Taekwondo-it in Korea ;)
that's how they Taekwondo-it in Korea ;)

School performance last Saturday :D was very wonderful :) do I sound like a Korean a little? haha i love it!
Traditional wedding celebration :):)Traditional wedding celebration :):)
Traditional wedding celebration :):)

hopefully i can upload the video of this :) it's muy interesante
Instead of flowers or balloons (or leis :))Instead of flowers or balloons (or leis :))
Instead of flowers or balloons (or leis :))

they give their kiddos these "lollipop bouquets" :)
Gwangali BeachGwangali Beach
Gwangali Beach

Cedric, TK, Lara, and I went to Gwangali beach and saw these kids shooting off some fireworks... :)


23rd November 2010
"This is a bedroom" lesson (5th grade)

Love this! I am going to use in my classroom! Would you want to set up pen-pals or e-mail pals, whatever let's talk, love you baby girl, who is teaching old teacher new tricks, Carolina
24th November 2010

Hey ANdrea...those stone men...one of them could be Hwangcho! We miss you! The three of us (in my one body) are doing great!!!! I will send you a photo. XO L

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.037s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb