Mo' mo' mo' ;)


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Gyeongsangnam-do » Yangsan
September 27th 2010
Published: September 27th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Soooooo the title is an inside joke with my Sis and the other 100 people I've shared that joke with 😉 But also is relevant to Korea because instead of saying, "Blah blah blah" they so "mo mo mo" haha... I love the little coinkidinks of life 😊😊... Anyhoo, so I wrote in the last blog (which none of you got an email about because I hadn't put all your emails in yet, so check it out) about getting a healthy dose of octopus juice on my foot.... let me explain further... Lara, Cedric, and I were at Jagalchi market (largest seafood market in Korea) and right before we were about to depart the market I stepped in some "Jagalchi-mud" (never wear sandals to Jagalchi market- like you should never wear sandals to TJ) and it squirted on my foot a little. I asked a lady to help a sistah out with this and so she puts this huge red plastic ladle in the dead octopus tub and pours it on my foot. And then repeats with another ladle pour for good measure. It was definitely something that not everyone gets to experience in Korea, but I did.

Another adventure that not everyone gets to partake in is.... let me tell you the good news first... I got my alien registration card today so I opened a bank account and will finally get paid- I'm going to be a millionaire tomorrow!! 😉 And I am going to finally get a cell phone manana as well, YES!!... Okay, so the "bad" news is that I woke up this morning and was doing my usual yoga stretches like a good girl and I go to turn from my back to my stomach and I hear a noise come from my knee (I can't describe it but any noise that doesn't originate from your mouth or other noise makers is usually not a good sign). So I didn't go to work today because I couldn't straighten my knee and it hurts, but it's feeling better. So I just got back from the Doctor and he said I need to have arthroscopic surgery which will only take an hour and is a small incision.. Mom, if you are reading this and freaking out, I'm going to call you in the morning! 😊 Or maybe I will wait to post this... probably the latter.
I am feeling alright about all of this. I was pretty bummed and a little scared this morning but I had a few hours to rest and I definitely "coached" myself into thinking positively about it... "it could always be worse" and "what doesn't kill only makes you stronger" were some of my inspirational thoughts. I was also thinking back on some other challenging times that I've dealt with and I remembered how I did get through those obstacles and I will shine through this one as well! 😊. Eleanor Roosevelt's famous quote, "You gain strength, courage, and confidence by every experience by which you really stop to look fear in the face. You are able to say to yourself, 'I lived through this horror. I can take the next thing that comes along."...
Awwww, and Sandy (the English teacher who comes Wednesday and Thursday just stopped by with water and bananas and apples 😊 sooooo sweet!!! 😊😊 and she also came by at noon with a sushi roll 😊!! Lara and Danielle (American friends) also emailed me and said they could go shopping for me if I need them to- which I probably will take them up on the offer if I do have surgery. Alrighty, so that's my story of the moment. I hope you are all doing fabulously!!!! I miss you all sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo much!!!!!!! Much love to you from Korea 😊😊
Andrea

PS I have to add this email from Cedric (American friend) after I told them all about my situation they were all supportive and such but Cedric's was pretty funny....

"Yeah it could definitely be worse, Andrea.
"Please, Cedric. How can it be worse?" - Andrea
Well, Andrea, you could have been walking through Jagalchi Market. And then you could have slipped on some octopus water that a lady threw into the street, and then because it was so slippery you would have slid right into a table of squid, so now not only do you have squid in your hair, but now some old Korean dude is screaming at you in that loud, angry voice that they yell with, and then you get scared of the old Korean dude and you run right into an aquarium tank holding a bunch of eels and one ends up latching on to your neck, and then you would panic so bad that you would grab a butcher knife and kill it, but you can't detach it from your neck because it has a death grip on it and removing it would cause you to bleed to death, so you would have to spend the rest of your life with an eel head attached to your neck

And the worse part is that the market vendor would make you pay for the eel that's attached to your neck 😊"

Advertisement



28th September 2010

ahahaha.. octojuiced. sorry to hear about your knee. bummer city. when is this surgery taking place (if you have to have it)??
30th September 2010

in the midnight hour...she wanted...mo mo mo!
hey doll! good to see you're still your positive-shiny self! thanks for adding me to your list...finally a list i want to be on. take care of that knee...and do whatever it takes to get well. hey--can you hire a rickshaw (sp?) to cart your fine ass around? that would be a sight to see...complete with a squid costume. time to carry me (pronounced calamari). what? it could happen! much love-elle

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0455s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb