where I live in


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Gyeongsangbuk-do » Gunwi County
October 15th 2007
Published: October 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

My house(fore-view)My house(fore-view)My house(fore-view)

this is my house where I live in
My house is in Choonsan village - between Daeyul village and Bugye village-. my house, exactly my father's house, is founded by my grand father in the Japanese Imperial period(king Sowa's period). my grand father constructed his thatched house at this site firstly and reconstructed his house with dark black tiled roof with my father in the early 1970's. He was a farmer but he went to market to sell his agricultural products of himself. when he was young, he went to near Gunwi market and to far Daegu, Youngcheon, Youngjoo market by foot or by carriage. My family(my parents and me) have lived in this house so far. the main house is reconstructed again with dark blue tiled roof and modernized equipments-shower room, toilet, kitchen, boiling system- to help my mother's home works in the late 1990's. but side houses are still left in traditional style-an "Ondol" system, a cow's shed, a fuel hole, a rice storage. the roof of the side house is too old to shield heavy rain, so I changed this old roof to metal(Iron) roof on summer, 2003, when I returned. this roof is so good to defend heavy rain on summer. "Ondol(heating rock)" system
my house(rear-view)my house(rear-view)my house(rear-view)

My house taken picture from my backyard.
is a means of heating room. It was invented by Korean ancestors long, long ago(about 1500years ago).thru the fuel hole, heat the rock beneath the room. so then, room is warmed, the old like to sleep in this room on winter. my parents also prefer to sleep in this room("Ondol" room). there are both the old style and the modernized style in my houses. I prefer to live in the modernized house where is convenient to me.
my house is surround by many kinds of trees-a jujube, a persimmon, a chinese nut, a bamboo, a plum, a nut, a pine nut. there is a jujube tree in side yard. this is about 70years old over. and my father plants various vegetables-chinese peppers, cucumbers, eggplants, tomatoes, pumpkins in backyard, my family eat this fresh and clean vegetables on summer. the quantity is not many. one year ago, I gained chinese tea seeds at Mt. Giri, south Korea and spread this seeds in my yard, on early this spring. eight seeds came into bud on this late summer. It took a long time(about 4 months) to come into bud. I am planning to grow this tea tree very carefully. It is
my house(side-view)my house(side-view)my house(side-view)

this is my house seen by the side.
very difficult that tea tree come into bud in cold region. but I just try it. luckily, tea seeds come into bud in my house yard.
there are two dogs in my house. one is very strong, big and has a white fur. the other is very cute, small and has a light yellow(copper) fur. they are good friends with my parents and good watchdogs.





Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

the attached housethe attached house
the attached house

this is a rice storage.
A jujube A jujube
A jujube

there is a jujube tree in my side yard.
bamboo treesbamboo trees
bamboo trees

this trees are not my father's. these are beside of my house.
a persimmon a persimmon
a persimmon

this persimmom tree is behind rice storage.
a persimmon fruita persimmon fruit
a persimmon fruit

the fruit was mature. It means autum.
the fuel holethe fuel hole
the fuel hole

this is a part of "ondol"system keeping the room warm
my dog, watchdog.my dog, watchdog.
my dog, watchdog.

this is my watchdog. he is smiling.
A cow's shedA cow's shed
A cow's shed

this is for cow but this is not use for cow. It is storage for fertilizers,potatoes and sweetpotatoes, etc.
my ancestors' private school for the youngmy ancestors' private school for the young
my ancestors' private school for the young

this architecture is beside my house. In the past, in this house, my ancestors learned Chinese letters. now, this house in empty.


16th October 2007

Very intresting!
I really enjoyed your blog. It was very nice the way you explained the history of your families house and how diffrent parts of the house it used. I like the Permisson tree and GOOD LUCK with your tea tree!! :o)
17th October 2007

Thanks!
Thank you for visiting my blog and reading my article. I don't know who you are. but It is maybe that you also like a plant life like me. thank for giving your good luck to my tee trees. if you are traveler, you may get good speed to your journey.
22nd October 2007

Your family house.
I agree with other stranger who made a comment.Your house looks very interesting in a good location. I hope it lasts for many more generations. John

Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0253s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb