My Home town and Choo-soek(仲秋節)


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Gyeongsangbuk-do » Gunwi County
September 27th 2007
Published: September 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

After cutting the weeds of the ancestors' tombAfter cutting the weeds of the ancestors' tombAfter cutting the weeds of the ancestors' tomb

this tomb is deep in the bush. I took a break with my father and my brother after cutting weeds.
From Sep.24, 2007 to Sep.26,2007 was Korean traditional holiday(Choo-soek, Aug.15. on lunar month, the full moon's day). A number of Korean visit their hometown and meet their parents, their relatives. From a couple of weeks before Choo-soek, men must visit their ancestor's tomb and cut the weeds covering tomb with a sickle or cutting machine. It is very hard working. some people cut the weeds from their parents' tomb to grand grand parents' tomb that are deep in the bush. this is one of the Confucianism. Christians don't do that. It is not important to Christians.
On Choo-soek day, Confucian(about a quarter of national total population) set a table for their ancestors in the morning, Choo-soek. and pray for thier ancestors and thanks for good harvest this year. this also the Confucianism. But in China, this tradition had been disappeared after communism government founded in China. In Korea, this tradition is still holds good. but many of young generation don't know how to set the table for their ancestors and to pray for thier ancestors. the old generation have a sorry about that. the number of the Confucian getting less and less. this is Koreans' dilemma.
The Confucianism
My hometownMy hometownMy hometown

This is my hometown. We can see the Palgong Mountain's shilhouette far away.
is the stem of the Korean Society as The Christian and Catholic is the stem of the western society. But Korean society and Korean turn the stream following the American culture from the confucianism after the Korean war.
after some generations, the Confucianism traditon of Korea will be disappear clearly in Korea.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

 A squirrel  A squirrel
A squirrel

A squirrel ate a chinesenut on the branch. the chinesenut tree is before my house.
Guardian -godGuardian -god
Guardian -god

This rock tomb is the entrance of my village. This tomb is for the guardian-god that protect our villagers from the evil and a disease and give them the happiness.


13th November 2007

thank you
i love your pictures. i am korean but was born in america. my mom is from gunwi originally. these pictures are wonderful to see where my family came from. please take more.
13th November 2007

I checked your comment
thank you for visiting my blog. although I don't know who you are, I glad to know you thru internet. could you send your mother's village(birthplace) to me? Gunwi is a small county(?) or farm village. and I want you to visit my Enghlish teacher's blog,www.mytb.org/epoch. in this blog, you can see another pictures about Dae-yul village in Gunwi. when I know your mother's hometown, I will collect pictures about your mother's village. thank you.

Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0346s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb