Lake Park and the Toilet Museum-Week 2


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Gyeonggi-do » Paju
April 19th 2009
Published: April 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Another week has passed and I think it is so strange how quickly I have fallen into a routine. My life almost normal, except when I have to pinch myself as a reminder that I am LIVING IN SOUTH KOREA!!

Today was spent in Lake Park in Ilsan. It really is a very nice park for being in a city. The park is pretty, but I think what is so appealing is how busy it was. It is exactly how a park should be. Everybody was out having a picnic, playing games, and just in general enjoying themselves. Lake Park is the site of the largest man made lake in South Korea and several little museums. One such museum may be considered one of the best I have ever been to. This conclusion is mostly due in part to the museum topic: toilets.

The Toilet Museum was the highlight of my visit to Lake Park. The museum is small, but quite a bit larger than one might expect. Who knew there was that much history on the toilet. Sadly all the information was written in Korean. There were several different sections that showed the history of the toilet from different parts of the world. Some of the exhibits were actually pretty cool while others seemed rather awkward-the kind of exhibit that makes you feel like you are 10 again and can't stop giggling at something inappropriate. While I may not have learned very much there I did get some rather amusing photos.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Toilet MuseumToilet Museum
Toilet Museum

This was a nice one.
Toilet MuseumToilet Museum
Toilet Museum

A nice little model.
Toilet MuseumToilet Museum
Toilet Museum

Awesome picture! Wish I knew what the caption said!
Toilet MuseumToilet Museum
Toilet Museum

One of those awkward exhibits...
Lake ParkLake Park
Lake Park

Very busy!
Lake ParkLake Park
Lake Park

Singing fountain
Lake ParkLake Park
Lake Park

Pretty flowers! Spring!


27th April 2009

Toilets
I'm so glad your taking in the culture and history of everything you can including the disposal of human by-product
12th May 2009

toilet museum?
Where is this toilet museum? I live 2 minutes from Lake Park and have been there dozens of times... I never knew there was a toilet museum!

Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0346s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb