First week in Korea


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Gyeonggi-do » Paju
April 13th 2009
Published: April 14th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So, I am starting to really get settled in. I started teaching on Wednesday. Monday, Wednesday, and Friday are my full days. I teach nine classes, and on Tuesday and Thursday I teach six classes. Most of my classes are kindergartners. They are cute and their English is pretty good. Most of the kids are good, but I have one class that is so frustrating. Its hard to get them to pay attention and not fight, or goof off. They are the only class I have problem with. Other than that though the job is good, minus some of the chaos and miscommunication issues.

This past weekend I did some of the tourist thing. Saturday I went into Seoul with Dore, Heather and some others for the Cherry Blossom Festival. It was so crowded! The park was packed. It was that borderline almost overwhelmingly crowded, but the cherry blossoms were very pretty. Sadly, though, that seemed to be all there was to the festival. There was a Korean dance performance and a juggler, but I didn't see anything else. Still, I'm glad I went.

After the festival we went to Itewon, which is known as the foreigner part of Seoul. There are some bases in the area and has become a popular area for the foreigners to go out in. Our group went to a Middle Eastern restaurant to eat and share a hookah. After we hit a bar called Gecko's. It didn't even feel like we were in Korea, there were so many foreigners there. And the place was packed. I was able to meet a lot of people. It was pretty nuts on the street once the bars started closing, though. I see why the army has the courtesy patrol, some of the soldiers were out of control.

Sunday was baseball day. Baseball is huge in Korea and so going to a game was an experience. The atmosphere was intense, more like a football game. The people were going nuts. I saw one of the longest stadiums waves ever-3 times around! It was a very good game too! The Bears vs. the Twins. We sat in the Bears section and our team won! Go Dusan Bears!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0517s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb