Adrenaline Rush


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Gangwon-do
August 5th 2010
Published: August 19th 2010
Edit Blog Post

After leaving Gyeongju I stopped in Seoul for one night so that I could figure out how to get to Inje. It turns out there is a free bus for tourist from Gyeongju to Seoul, but you had to book in advance so I was left paying and the bus took longer than I wanted to get to Seoul. The following day I left for Inje. When I arrived in Inje I knew there was not going to be a hostel so I preceded to a motel suggested in Lonely Planet. I found the location only by matching the Korean characters in the book with what was on the building. I had a hard time trying to communicate that I wanted a bed for the night, but they realized through charades what I wanted. I didn't think it should have been difficult, but the name on the outside also said Top Nights so maybe it was not just a place to sleep. I pretty much stayed in the motel that night, one to get my moneys worth out of the motel room, and two there wasn't anything to do in the town that I saw. The reason I came here was the for adrenaline activities the town offered. I went to the tourist information center and pointed to the activities that I wanted to do and the lady set them up for me for the folling day. I decided ona white water rafting trip and decided that I would go bungee jumping afterwards. I was picked up the next morning and taken with a couple other people so we could raft down the river. The river was very low and, I would consider it a leisurely ride down the river versus anything with actual difficulty. Though that did not stop the other raft from flipping over multiple times. It was Korean Family that I guess just didn't get the idea, or maybe they did, falling in the river seem much more exciting than what we were doing. After getting out of the river I went to go bungee jumping. I had to wait for an hour, not because there was that long of a line, but because there were a group of 13year olds that would go to the top wait 10min and then not jump and they had to come down. Finally I had my turn and the guy at the top said he would count to three then say bungee and that is when I should jump. I walked out on to the ledge and there was absolutely nothing going through my mind, he could have told me to moo like a cow and I would have done it. The instructions said not to look down, but when he said bungee I naturally looked down to see where I was jumping to and if it was safe. At that moment I am not sure if I actually jumped or if I more or less fell over.



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0258s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb