Seoul - Ferry - Qingdao


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul » Hongik
August 5th 2010
Published: August 28th 2010
Edit Blog Post

After I left Inje I went back to Seoul for a few days. I stayed in a different area is Seoul this time. The Haeungdea section that is suppose to be full of college students. The area was ok, not really what I was expecting. Most of our night time activities involved late night outings at the park. Seoul the second time around was going to be my last stop in South Korea until I went back to China. This time I saw the Blue House, where the president lives. I was asked multiple times where I was going when I was walking on the road to the house. I guess after the assassination attempt awhile back by North Korean soldiers they decided to beef up security. I also saw a couple war museums this time. I really enjoyed South Korea and it was probably the best country that I have been to thus far in my trip. To be honest I am not really looking forward to going back to China after seeing civilization again here in South Korea.

With that said I departed on the overnight ferry to Qingdao. On this ferry I could tell it was full of Chinese because I was pushed and skipped in line to get dinner. I couldn't even make it to China before the pushing began, I was not ready to go back. Once in Qingdao I stayed at the better hostel in town that I found the first time in the city. I showed the taxi driver the address and he said he knew where it was, or rather I should say that he motioned me to get into the car. I took this as he knew where it was. We drove around for awhile and then he stopped and acted like we were there. It was obviously not the place. We got into an argument, well he kept speaking Chinese and I kept saying 'no' one of the three words I could remember from my five word vocabulary. I finally showed him that I wanted to go to the train station and I would just walk from there. As I got out of the cab the first thing that I see is a person peeing in the middle of the street. Welcome to China. I really did not want to be here. The remaining two days I tried to hide in the hostel and wallow in self pity on how hard my life was not to have a job and to travel around the world.



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 59; dbt: 0.056s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb