Christmas Etc


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Gangwon-do
December 28th 2007
Published: December 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Lets see, I left off on Friday, which was exactly a week ago. I drank a lot since then so forgive me if there are days that I just can't remember. Friday night I think Kev and George came out. I think we went to U2 Bar. Yeah, that sound about right. Which means thats the night we drank and danced, hopped in a taxi just before curfew, went to mine, drank more, George asked me to be his girlfriend... which means in one week of being in Wonju I met a guy, he dumped his girlfriend and now we're official... I think I may have moved too quickly on that one, but he's really lovely and Kev likes him so it doesn't matter. Plus he's a Magician, how fucking cool is that! Hes also a writer and willing to play Rummy as much as I like. I've seen him all but two days since I've been here. I've been here two weeks to the day.

Anyhow, Saturday I don't think Kev came out. I think I went out with George and Alex to Latte Cinema. We went to The Outback, which is an Austrailian Steak house... so I ordered Seafood Pasta. The we went to the Arcade and then headed back to mine as we ran out of good ideas.

Sunday we went to this memorial park of Teju or something like that (some famous Korean author). We a group of poets from a high school who were displaying their poetry. As we looked around they brought us tea. People here seem to love giving drinks. I got a cup of coffee one day from the guy behind the counter here at the PC Bong, don't know why, he just brought it to me as I was writing an email he probably shouldn't have seen. We went to this quiant little coffee shop for cappachino and cheesecake- best cheesecake in the world. Then back to The Pub. Then I went home. I think George came out later... wait a minute, George and Alex came out later so I'm not really sure what actually happened Saturday.

Monday (X-Mas Eve), Kev invited me to a Christmas Dinner his friend Mike and his wife Crystal were having on base. That was wonderful, they even had turkey which is near impossible to get here. I played with their child, I didn't break it. I have a polar bear hat that has a scarf in the shape of polar bear hands coming off it, the child seemed to like it. Then we went back to the U2 Bar where Jung Wee, Jeff and Jake (the owners) gave out X-Mas presents to everyone. Kev got a girls KGB T-Shirt, unfortunately he left it there, I think he was going to give it to Nelly. We went to a Norti Bong (which is Kareoke and beer essentially). Then Kev, Chris, Crystal, this South African Jeanine and I went back to mine. George came over, go figure. Lots of drinking. George and I went to get more alcohol and got lost a third time about 4 blocks from my apartment which is on a hill and very easy to see... so we got a taxi home after running around a lot looking for the right streets... oh yeah, me and running, not so good... George- "Don't run or you'll hurt yourself again", me- "hahaha" splat... apparently I didn't even put my hands out I just fell face first and bounced off the cement. I have a huge scrape across my cheek, don't think it will scare. I also have skinned knees and bruises everywhere. Typical isn't it. When we got home I found a kitten in behind a shed mewing for its mom or something. It was snowy, so I brought it home with me. The arguement of "You don't have your shots" or "It'll piss in your house" didn't deter me.

Tuesday morning, Christmas, I throw the kitten out cause the fucker won't stop mewing. My apartment is on the third floor and there are two sliding glass doors between my sitting room and outside my balcony, and for an hour we could still hear the kitten mewing... I think someone killed it after that. I can't blame them. Oh, I named him Asshole before I kicked him out. We sat, ate pizza, watched films, then Kev went home and George and I went to Beer Plus for the Trivia night. That was cool.

I better hurry this up cause I have to be home in 15 minutes for a phone call.

Wednesday Kev and Chris came out for my birthday (cause they were working today so they couldn't come out last night). We went to dinner- Sushi and Kimchi and Chicken Kiev. We ordered three too many plates of Sushi. Went to Post Docks, another Westerner's pub, and had a pitcher. Went home and drank. Chris passed out... bad idea... me and Kev went and dragged his bed with him on it into the sitting room. We managed to get the Playstation 2 working by plugging it into an american to korean converter, which didn't fit into the wall, so we plugged that into a korean to american plug, then that into an american to korean plug and that into the wall... dodgy as fuck but it works.

10 minutes. Thursday, yesterday, after Kev and Chris left I waited for 10:30pm when George, Alex and two others they work with got off work and came out. I spent hours watching all Bikini Bandits and all of Elfen Lied- fucking awesome btw. We planned to meet at U2 but it was raining so I got there first (its impossible to flag a taxi in the rain). U2 was closed when I got there, so I stayed outside smoking cause I don't have a mobile yet. Three men came up and surrounded me... they started off far enough away but walking past me while staring and waving, then walking back across... then one of them ventured over to talk to me and tell me his brother is drunk, I'm beautiful and then his brother pulled my hair and said hi. The guy from the shop next door was talking at me and I think he was trying to tell me to come in from the rain. The guy with a little English told me women can't smoke outside in public (which I duely pretended not to understand and continued on). Then he gave me his phone, I told them I'd meet them at Post Docks, he found me a taxi and I think he he said he was going to ask George out to dinner and pints for next weekend. At Post Docks I managed to insult Hank's girlfriend and her family without knowing it to the point where she and he left. I was talking about Mexican's not making it to Ireland. I was joking, I didn't realise someone at the table was Mexican... she said she was from Canada.

Today I haven't done anything. I have 1 minute to get to the house. I live close, not that close. I'll explain today some other day. Take care my lovelies. Btw, how fucking typical is this- the only friends I've made here are English and men (there are no Irish men here).

Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0376s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb