Episode 2


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Gangwon-do
December 18th 2007
Published: December 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Last night, 10:30pm, I learned to Rocky Horror Picture Show Korean tele, so last night wasn't so lonely. I've been in Korea since Wednesday but I've already written Wednesday's entry so I'll move on to Thursday.

Basically I woke up, ate breakfast, went hiking (Alex the Head EPIK Coordinator asked me to hang around with him for the first half of the day so he could see what I'm like as a person- this was after I said his country seemed very brown :P ), went to lunch, hiked back down, went to the lighthouse and walked up entirely too many seemingly unsturdy steps, went climbing around the tide pools on the rocks in the East Sea. Found out you call it the East Sea, not the Sea of Japan, cause that makes people angry. Then we went to GELK which is a camp for Korean kids to go in order to study English during vacation. Found out children here don't get vacation, they get summer and winter camp, and during the school year they get both. Then back for a special dinner, a few kegs of Hite beer and Old Boy on a big screen. Patrick and I ended up going back to mine and talking and drinking beer out of a tea pot after they closed the hall. He's from Prince Albert Island in Canada.

Friday morning I woke up late, missed breakfast and half of the first class. Alex pointed me towards where it was and called me a dumbass for sleeping in. He's Korean but he's mostly from California so his sense of humour is rather American. After that we had a Graduation Ceremony (which at least for me was just a show), at which we met our co-teachers and everyone else found out where they were going to be stationed. We ate, said goodbye and left. So, I'll skip some boring stuff. Oh, the GPS unit in the car on the way home kept saying "Piece of Shit Piece of Shit" in a really cheery voice, apparently in Korean that means "Speed Camera up ahead". Friday night I went to the Wonju English Teacher's Facebook group trivia night, at which I met my two friends I have two friends I have today: George and Vin. We drank, did trivia, drank more, the other twenty people left and it was down to us and one of George's friends, Alex. We went to The Pub, everything got very foggy but fun. We had a snowball fight at a park, loads of Korean kids joined in, then we made a two balled snowman with an anime face, came back to mine and I drank till 8am, Vin and George drank till 9:30am. Vin, George and Alex are English btw.

Saturday George and I went shopping. We got Domino's Pizza and rented the Korean film The Apartment. It was weird and hard to get into. When Kev and his friend Chris showed up we fast forwarded through it: Man is pushed down elevator shaft, girl screams when his head pops through the roof, girl runs to friends house to tell her not to turn off the lights at 9:56pm, friend doesn't answer cause she is being raped, girl gets arrested for shouting crazy shit that points out the fact she watches all the neighbours with bonoculars, rapist gets arrested for dressing as the rape victim, shoots himself, rape victim who was in wheelchair takes too many feel good pills and can walk again, she's the one killing all her neighbours cause they treat her like she's retarded, arrested girl gets somehow unarrested and jumps off roof with cripple to show she loves her even though crippled girl wanted to and was going to kill her anyways, the end. WTF?
Then Kev and I sat around catching up... which involved alcohol and a lot of fucked up stories from our younger days. Then we went to "The Marshall's" house party- best house ever! They had indoor putt putt golf with glow stars incorporated underneath the staircase, they had drinking Jenga, a cocktail bar, turtles, a spill towel taped to the wall and mood lighting. Not to mention the 50 some off people they managed to fit comfortably around the place keeping no room too loud or too quiet. I met Chelsea Marshall who gave me a tour of her house and was really sweet all night. I hung out more with George who at hte end of the night played guitar for us. I seem to be a sucker for musicians. We came back to mine, drank, Kev and his friend left. I ended up kissing George, despite him having a girlfriend.

Sunday we went shopping again. Got lost again. George went home. I found EMart at which I nearly bought a bunny to keep me company, then went to bed early.

Monday at work at Wonju Girls Middle School we made X-Mas Cards and they took me to lunch. Sonya and I travelled to Chuncheon for my Alien Registration Card. When we got back she took me to dinner where I learned that my favourite Korean dish is dalkgalbi (it means something like Chicken meat dish).

Tuesday, today, I went to the Hakseong Boys Middle School and watched Susie teach two classes, then the English teachers took me to lunch and then home. I checked my email and George had sent one asking me to go to a film with him and saying that he now came single and unattached. Grace took me to get a bank account and tonight Vin and George came over again (as tomorrow is a Korean national holiday- Presidential Election Day... there were 12 candidates to choose from). Vin arrived around 7pm and we drank and played cards and were fairly hammered by 11pm when George showed up. The end of Episode 2.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0359s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb