Last Blog from Korea


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Busan
August 9th 2011
Published: August 9th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Last night in Korea. Gonna miss it! Been learning something new everyday but it's time I skedaddle so I can go on a major diet. I literally go into a coma after every meal.

Had an amazing hazelnut iced coffee today. Came in a pouch at the convenience store. I was so surprised! You buy your pouch and then get a cup of ice out of a small freezer by the door. Pour in the pouch and voila! Best iced coffee I've ever had. No lie!

Saw Captain America today. Even more exciting was the fresh caramel corn they sell at the snack counter. Could this country get any better?!

Went on a really cool walk with PJ's brother last night. Their neighborhood is right up against the mountains and there is a popular trail that everyone goes on at night, and many people at midnight. And when I say trail I pretty much mean like a super trail. It's completely paved and rigged with lights in the ground so you can see the path. It also has work out equipment at certain intervals. At about 3000 km up there is a viewing tower where you can see the bay and the entire city. When you're finished walking/running whatever, there is a station where you can blow cool air on yourself. Pretty nifty! There's also a...well not sure what to call it, but a water station. It's tiled with multiple spigots and there are communal dippers hanging on little hooks that you fill up and drink out of. At first I thought PJ's brother was kidding when he said I could drink from it but turns out it was ok. I totally expected to have stomach problems later but nope!

I've seen some pretty cool wildlife, all in giant forms of course. I've seen a giant cricket, a giant inch worm, a giant beetle, and a giant toad. The giant toad (literally the size of my two fists put together) came out of nowhere in the dark. PJ's brother (25 years old and ex Navy member) screamed and held onto me haha. Definitely a priceless moment 😊

Advertisement



10th August 2011

scarey frogs
You are the master frog fighter, LOL. Can you take a pic of a giant bug for me :)?
10th August 2011

Safe flight to Japan
Sounds like you left your mark on Korea and leave with wonderful first-time memories. Maybe you can get back for a visit before heading back west. LOVE YOU!

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0504s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb