If someone asks "asobu?", say NO!


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Osaka
August 11th 2011
Published: August 11th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Had a great start to the day. Confirmed that my atm card does indeed work in JAPAN. I no longer fear destitution and starvation. 😊

Bought my first train ticket and easily found my way to Shin Imamiya Station. Had a bit of trouble finding Hotel Toyo but mama pulled through and guided me there on the phone. Thank goodness for global telephone service!

My room is small but very comfortable and equipped with a fan which is important cuz it's hot as balls here! A very nice man gave me his fan which helps a lot when walking in the heat. Got a good look at the Tennoji Zoo and Isshinji Temple. Also bought three dollars worth of vending machine drinks. They are literally EVERYWHERE! Had a cafe au lait this morning, oolong tea later, and just now had a melon cream soda. Delicious! Haven't gotten around to food yet though. Eateries close up in the afternoon between lunch and dinner. Will try to go out later.

Was having a great time walking around. Everyone is very friendly and so I wasn't suspicious when a guy said "Hi! and then asked me how my Japanese was (in Japanese). I said "so so" in Japanese and then he started to ask all of these questions really quickly. "Asobu? Asobu?" Couldn't get ahold of what he was saying til I heard "seksu" and "speedo". What do I look like?! I said "sex and drugs?! No thank you!" Turned to walk the other way and then I heard "sumimasen!" Came running after me with a wad of cash. I was fully clothed by the way. Sigh. Kinda ruined the welcome to Japan honeymoon experience I was having. Oh well. Lesson learned. If anyone asks "Asobu?" (wanna have fun?) say NO!

Needless to say on the way back to the hotel I was much more wary. Passed a shop displaying lots of titties. Decided maybe I was in the wrong area... Found my way back to the main road avoiding eye contact with all male specimens. At a stop light an old man on a bike struck up a convo. Startled me at first but realized he was only commenting on the heat. ( I had been furiously waving my fan around.) "Atsui, atsui. Hotto, hotto", he said. "Hai, mushi atsui!" I replied.

Have a feeling it might be difficult to determine who is being nice and who is being creepy. Hopefully will discover method of determining intent soon.

Plan to go to Osaka Castle tomorrow. Hopefully I make it!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.036s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb