The Comet Has Landed


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Busan
September 9th 2009
Published: September 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Busan

The left point is where my train came in. The top one is where Alex's apartment is. The right one is Haeundae Beach.

Sorry for the delay on my writing an entry I have just been ripping for the past 4 days straight during which I believe I have slept a total of maybe 15 hours...Maybe! Korean has been a ridiculously fun/ very challenging/ a transforming experience! My flight was uneventful yet long, the most exciting part of that leg was eating sushi in the Tokyo airport. I only had an hour layover and was completely unsure of the exchange rate in Japan. Anyway long story short it was the best $45 plate of sushi in my life, I guess we live and we learn, right! So when I finally got to Korea I met one of Lindsey's friends at this random bus terminal and guess what the first thing I bought in Korea was..... a grande Latte! I know terrible and so Seattle! I did redeem myself though by immediately purchasing chicken on a stick from a street vendor so don't worry!

The next day I took a bullet train down to Busan on the southern coast of South Korea. This city is considered the California of Korea because it is right on the beach! I've been in Busan the past three days and I am falling in love with this city! I honestly do not want to leave and am not sure I will ever come back to the US. JK mom love you. My first night here, Alex's boss took us out for Korean Barbecue and Soju. The meal was unbelievable, as was the Soju, which is the national liquor, even though we may have imbibed too much Konbay (Korean cheers)! Alex lives in a tiny apartment near Pusan University which makes his area kind of a U-district type feel with a definite Korean twist. It has been amazing to me how many Foreigners and ex-pats live in Korea! It is unbelievable meeting people here because so many of them are kindred spirits, adventurous people with a passion for traveling that collectively have so just volumes of unique experiences. I have never felt so instantly welcomed and befriended by so many people in my life and it is going to be truly sad to leave these good people.

Yesterday I visited Haeundae beach in southern Busan while Alex was teaching his classes. This section of Busan is directly on the beach and is truly a beautiful sight to see! I went swimming in the ocean with a bunch of foreigners, apparently Koreans only swim in July and August no matter the temperature, random! One of the Germans I was hanging out with suggested I go check out the Saunas or Jimjilbang as they call them in Korea. So I wandered around the city until I found one, and it was truly one of the more awkward and relaxing experiences of my life! All I'll say is I was the only white person and you don't wear clothes. Anyway, Peace and love you all and I'll try and keep you all more updated as we go! I leave in Monday for Hanoi and we'll see what ridiculousness occurs from there! - JOSH

Advertisement



Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 7; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0681s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb