That's not quite what I meant...


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore
September 16th 2006
Published: September 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

When I said I'd add another blog if something equally dramatic and exciting happened, that wasn't an open invitation!!

So we go for a walk by a reservoir, where there's some of the only rainforest left in Singapore, and apparently you can see turtles, monitor lizards, monkeys...

Well, it started raining pretty heavy, and then a storm broke. Thunder and lightning everywhere.

At this point, let me just say, I was always told that lightning takes the shortest route to earth. So being surrounded by trees, you'd expect there to be plenty of targets. Well, if anyone tells you the same thing, DON'T BELIEVE THEM!!! About 70 metres ahead of us a bolt of lightning struck the ground on the path we were walking on, completely ignoring the numerous tree options available. And if not a shock, exactly, we certainly all felt a little tingle. Just a little too close for comfort! Though not as close as for the 2 girls about 50m ahead of us, who came running past us not long after as we also made a hasty retreat!!

By the way, electronics are supposed to be quite cheap here, so if anyone is after anything specific (and not too big/pricy!!), let me know and I'll get you a price...


Advertisement



16th September 2006

lightning
And a voice came from above..."F***, I missed" !

Tot: 0.037s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0218s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb