Day Two Singapore


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore
May 2nd 2013
Published: May 2nd 2013
Edit Blog Post

It dawned a very warm (that must be a joke, it was boiling). Today was my first full day of exploring Singapore. Like the wise thinking person I was I was going to walk to the Singapore Airline hop on bus. Walking outside I was hit by a cool 38 degrees. Luckily the sane person in me said "do you really want to walk the 2km to the bus stop" the answer a resounding NO. I'm staying at the V Lavender Hotel, directly below it is the Lavender MRT station. So down the escalator I went, As I walked through the underground tunnel you come through some doors which lead to the ticketing area. This was my first point where I thought what do. Again lucky for me the machines seemed tourist proof. I stepped up pushed my destination in then slipped the $2.00 note in, and the machine rejected it. Thinking I made a mistake I tried with another $2.00 note and this also came back. At this point people lining up behind you and start to panic. Unlike at home Singapore people smile and want to help a total stranger. I scramble through my bag and pull out $1.20 in change, thank god it worked and the ticket came out. After that it was a breeze everything was clearly posted and the journey went easy. Walked the 100metres to the bus stop outside the Raffles hospital. The bus takes you through some of the main streets and tourist attractions (Little India, Chinatown, Raffles hotel ( the home of the Singapore Sling and the only place in Singapore where you can drop something, in this case nuts on the ground and not get arrested) and of course the iconic Singapore Flyer.

You get on and off the bus when you want to except at the flyer where you finish and get on a new bus. With the stop over package you have a ticket to the flyer so up I went it takes 35 minutes t get around, what a stunning view


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

From the V HotelFrom the V Hotel
From the V Hotel

Rain rolling in


Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 18; dbt: 0.0163s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb