All in One


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore
April 6th 2011
Published: April 13th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


I'd never been to Singapore despite it being on the Malaysian doorstep. From several sources, Singapore did not receive the best reviews. Many said it was too perfect and slightly boring. I was hopefully only staying for a day but I still had enough time to make a judgement for myself.

I arrived at the airport not having done any research or booking any hotels. A bit risky considering how expensive Singapore is. The helpful lady at the Information Desk, at the airport, found me a room for about £25. That was the cheapest rate around, although it was located Singapore's Red Light District. I arrived expecting the area to be awful and a run-down. What I had forgotten was that this was Singapore. Yes, ladies of the night did roam the streets, but it was incredibly clean with my hotel being the best cheap hotel ever. Great area for people watching and I even got a complimentary hair comb with my room.

The following day, I still had no clue how I was getting to my Auntie's house in place called Seremban, Malaysia. Luckily I found an internet cafe full of online gamers. I was the only person doing anything vaguely productive. I found a direct bus only to discover it was at 10PM. I had woken up really early just in case the bus had an early departure. With a lot of time to kill, and Singapore being small, I wandered around aimlessly. This place was the complete contrast to India. Everything was new, with a complete lack of history and the streets were spotless. During the late afternoon I gravitated towards an area called Marina Bay. This is where the financial and business district is located and where much of the Singapore Grand Prix takes place too. Elegant skyscrapers surrounded the still waters. The area was very photogenic, plus a great place to watch the sun gradually surrender into darkness. The buildings then lit up, shimmering in the bay.

I also stumbled onto an area where light show was being held. The skyscrapers were the backdrop. Water from the bay was fired upwards into spray and images projected onto the spray; water jets of ever-changing colours also shot up vertically; fire blasts and a bubble machine. A dazzling show that lasted only thirty minutes and I was very lucky to come across. One girl said to me before I left (you know who you are!), "the best experiences are not the ones we search for but they find us". This was certainly one of those moments since it was so unexpected. A top way to spend one day in Singapore. Hopefully I will spend more time here before I leave for Melbourne, in two months.



Additional photos below
Photos: 32, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.188s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 54; dbt: 0.102s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb