Goodbye Singapore. Hello Malaysia.


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore
February 25th 2011
Published: February 25th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Sad to say that this day much like the previous day started with a hangover. However there was no chance of being lazy today as I had to get up, get washed and checked out before 11.00 am. This was managed without any problems.
I then got a taxi to Clarke Quay MRT station (MRT is what they call there underground/ train service). Should mention that I have been using the MRT since arriving to get around the city and they are very efficient as well as cheap, around 2.50 dollars for a ride. And you get a dollar back once you return the ticket ! I could not contact Sam or Nick via facebook before leaving the hostel but was sure I was meant to meet them at exit E of Clarke Quay station or at least I hoped I was.
I got a burger king which turn out to be vital as the train ride we took from Singapore to Malaysia is 8 hours long and does not have any food available on board.
The guys arrived at exit E a few minutes later and I was a very relieved man lol.
We then made our way to the train station which seems very old. I Would later find out the train line has been open since 1884 and it looked every bit as old.
The train ride was pretty uneventful other than a old Malaysian guy trying to strike up a conversion with us, although this was extremely difficult as he didn't speak a word of English and we didn't speak a word of Malay. Did also see some beautiful country as we made our way to KALA LUPA. where we will be staying for a couple of days. I'll keep you posted on how it goes.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0326s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb