Chinese New Year 2011


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore
February 6th 2011
Published: February 6th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Sunday, 6th February 2011


Chinese New Year took on a special meaning for me this year. The 4.5 days long weekend provided some justice for my sleep-deprived body. More importantly, it provided ample opportunities for me to spend quality time with my family and to catch up with my friends and relatives.

There was an influx of home invitations from my friends this year. I treasure such gatherings since there were a few of them whom I had not met for the longest time. For most, I probably had a chance to meet them a couple of times over the course of the year due to weddings, birthdays and some other private functions.

I’m not exactly closed to each & every individual but I had fun engaging with them with all the latest gossips while trying to demolish the New Year goodies in front of us. I had fun too playing with L’s dog, Dylan, a golden retriever whom she had kept for the past 2 years. For my former schoolmates, we had the chance to sit down and firmed up on our travel plans to visit our friend who is now based in Taichung.

Being estranged from my relatives meant that I could only get to see my cousins for a couple of hours every year. For some of them, the awkwardness was eminent. Of course, there were always questions on our marital status, about our upcoming latest trips from curious relatives.

While I used to dread Chinese New Year celebrations more than anybody else given that I had arrived at an awkward juncture of my existence, it was nevertheless a meaningful experience for me this year. I’m thankful for all the family members, relatives and friends who made this journey possible.

Happy New Year again for the rest of the 11 days.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0758s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb