A Mixed Bag


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore
July 26th 2009
Published: July 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

A watershed year?A watershed year?A watershed year?

Thanks Mr B for his useful format which I turned it into a Travel Calender.

On Jetstar


The holiday mood was still burning in me even though we had cancelled our Bali plans. At the time of writing, we haven't given up harassing Jetstar Asia for our flight issues. Calls had been made and a polite (I read through, and it wasn't nasty) letter sent to the Customer Care. We hoped that a miracle would materialise even though chances are extremely remote. Afterall, Jetstar had already given way by allowing us to postpone our flight to a later date at no extra charge.

I would still continue to fly Jetstar in future. With its vibrant and cheerful orange trademark coupled with Joanne Peh's recent endorsement, it certainly set our vacation mood in perspective. The recent saga was just an isolated incident.


On the Army Museum


I decided to take sometime off on Thursday and pay a visit to the Army Museum. Saved another family of four, I had the whole place to myself. The pictures and personal accounts brought back memories of my time some 10 years ago. Even though 日子很苦 and our instructors came down hard on us, the 2.5 years was still a relatively memorial journey for me.


On Johor Bahru


I had mixed feelings going through the new Johor Bahru Customs on Thursday afternoon. The sprawling new complex was welcoming but there was just too much 冤枉路 with the many "U-Turns" along the way. Oh yeah, the public toilets were slowly falling apart with just a few months into operation.

Weekdays afternoon were an ideal time to explore City Square shopping mall. The crowds were manageable. This was a good time to stock up on some books and some Thai foot reflexology. Of course, no visit would be complete without stocking up on my favourite Tau Sa Piah.

I was back in Singapore before dinner time where 4 of us headed back to our favourite Hachi-Tei Restaurant in Tanjong Pagar. The lady boss was still as friendly as ever and I promised to bring back new clientele for my next visit.


On Batam


The trip to Batam for my day spa was a last minute affair. No pre-departure planning, no pre-approvals from anybody. It's just me and my escape on a Saturday morning. When the going gets tough, its time for me to cool it off alone and retreat into my protective shell.

With 6 days of annual leave entitlement left to play, I would certainly be prudent in planning my future vacations.












Advertisement



Tot: 0.341s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 14; qc: 76; dbt: 0.2382s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb