Singapore - a FINE City!


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore
December 11th 2005
Published: December 11th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Already on my first day here in Singapore I knew I loved this City! I know it sounds bad, but I truely am a Western girl at heart! After spending weeks in totally challenging places, I have to admit that the cleanliness, reliable public transport and the ability to find all the essentials I require (good chocolate, decent supermarkets and air conditioning!) have definitely won me over! I'm really enjoying the Cosmopolitan feel of this place, and in a strange way, kinda feel a little at home here - weird!

On arrival, I found my way easily to the MRT (the main train system here in Singapore) and had a relatively simple journey to my hostel. If, however, I had been lost or in trouble, there were MANY, MANY people around to lend a helping hand...most of them offered me advice even though I kinda knew where I was going - people here are so friendly (and NOT in the same sense as in Bangkok!!!) Once I got to the hostel I was astounded...it really is wonderful - a veg-out area with TV and FREE INTERNET, washing machines (a MUST for me right now), fantastic rooms and extremely friendly staff...Hang Out definitely is THE place to be! The local area is cool too - right near Little India, so plenty going on and easy access to the MRT...WICKED! I spent the first night just checking out the surroundings and then FINALLY headed to bed - much needed sleep!

I spent my first proper day exploring Little India and Chinatown - unfortunately because I only have 3 days here, I'm having to cram in a lot of stuff which otherwise I would be taking my time doing, but hey, I can't really complain can I?! So my first day was pretty much spent running around looking at Hindu Temples, Chinese Buddhist Temples, Mosques, Shopping areas (can't miss those out!), Raffles Place and the Singapore River! I had dinner ar Boat Quay, right by the River - so cool - and then hurridly made my way to the NIGHT SAFARI! The journey took absoultely ages, but was worth every minute! I met a German girl, Laura, on the bus in the way there and we spent the rest of the evening together. Firstly, we took the Tram around half of the Park, then went on the "Leopard Trail", then got back on the Tram for the second half and finally finished with the "Creatures of the Night Show!" - awesome! All in all, we saw Tigers, Lions, Leopards, HUGE Bats, Hippos, Rhinos, Elephants, Zebras, Giraffes...- the list is endless! I didn't get back to the hostel till about 1am...dirty stop-out, I know!

After 2 days of hectic running around, I decided to start today a little slower - did WASHING..about time too! I left the hostel at about lunch time and proceeded to stroll around the Colonial Core of the city - checking out Raffles Hotel, Raffles Landing Sight, Fort Canning Park, Chijmes, more Temples, and Clark Quay. From there, I went up to Orchard Road - the MAIN shopping area - which was PACKED!!! People EVERYWHERE - manic!!! For the first time, it hit home that it's nearly Christmas - there were lights, decorations and Christmas music everywhere; I even foolishly went into a TopShop there too - big mistake, reminded me of home and all the nice clothes etc that I won't be wearing until I get back...am skanky, backpacker girl out here, no pretty dresses for me 😞 Oh well, suck it up! So, despite my slower start, I still ended up cramming a lot in today and am SO tired! Think I'll have to have a major sleep when I get to OZ - until then I've gotta use all the time I have...so much to see and do here - whoever said 3 days would be enough, lied!!!









Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0396s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb