Sentosa Sunbathing


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore » Sentosa Island
December 13th 2005
Published: January 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

On my last day in Singapore, I decided to venture out of the wonderful city centre and head for the beautiful Island Resort of Sentosa - it had been highly reccommended by the guy sitting next to me on the plane over here, so I thought it was at least worth a look = he was SO RIGHT!!!

I checked out of the Hostel from Heaven at around midday, and then took the extremely long journey to Harbour Front MRT Station - I think it'd would've been a lot easier and quicker if I hadn't had my hideously heavy backpack with me, and all my belongings!!! Once at the Station, I made my way to the Cruise Centre were I could leave my backpack for the day - thank god!!! Then it was on to the CABLE CAR Station!!!! The views from the Cable Car were absolutely amazing - such a cool way to view the Island and the city of Singapore (although I did feel a little queasy on the ride over!)

After hitting the Food Court area, I decided that it was essential for me to visit all of the three beaches on the Island - haven't seen in a beach in oh so long - having withdrawl symptoms!!! On Siloso beach I sat and actually SUNBATHED = the first time on this trip that I've been able to sit in the sun in my bikini - about time too!!! I then took the Island bus to Palawan beach, and sat on the beach eating a yummy Ben and Jerry's Ice Cream! I walked to the Southernmost Point of Continental Asia and soaked up the beautiful view for what seemed like ages, and even swam in one of the little lagoons (although the water was really WARM - a little disappointing!) My next, and final beach stop, was Tanjong beach, which was a lot more quiet and peaceful than the other beaches.

Feeling a little "beached out", I took the bus to the Musical Fountain - a water display to music - which was nice, but would've been more impressive to see at night when lasers are also used! From there I walked to see the massive Merlion monument - you can definitely tell that it's Singapore's Mascot - the thing is EVERYWHERE! I had a quick scoot through the Orchard Garden (another thing Singapore is famous for!) and then managed to catch the shuttle bus back to mainland Singapore just in time to collect my backpack!

It was a long, but enjoyable day out! After collecting my stuff, I took the MRT to Changi Airport ready for my flight later in the evening = I was there HOURS early, but fortunately the airport was jammed packed with shops and things to do! Luckily for me, I decided to check in as early as possible, and got the BIGGEST shock of my life = I'd MISSED my flight!!!! It turns out that I was meant to fly at 12AM in the morning NOT 12PM in the evening - d'oh!!! (I blame the confusing time printed on the ticket!!!) So, slightly panicking, I asked the check-in girl what my options were - seems like luck was on my side, as the flight was half empty = I was able to fly tonight afterall!!! Phew! Once my flight was sorted, I had to rush to a phone and call my Hostel in Sydney to check they still had a bed for me and could put me up for 2 nights as planned - they could!!! YAY!!!

All that stress took up quite a bit of time, which meant that I didn't have so long to wait. I had a little wander around - still a little hyped up from my scare - got some food, and went to my gate early = wasn't going to miss this flight!!!!! I borded the plane safe and sound, and had a really good flight - lets hope that's the only transport trauma I have this trip, somehow I fear it may be the first of many :/ !!



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0496s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb