Sacramento - San Francisco - Singapore


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore
December 12th 2007
Published: December 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Sac-SFO-Singapore


Sac-SFO-Singapore October 18-20, 2007

The flight from SFO stopped about half way at Inchin, Korea to let off passengers and take on new ones. We had to get off the plane with all of our carryon luggage (I didn’t have much thank goodness), wait in line, get a sticker to identify us as “in transit”, wait in another line, get screened and have our carryon baggagce screened.

Finally we were able to wander around and stretch our legs in the airport for about 30 minutes and then it was time to get back on the plane and make our way to Singapore - 6 more hours. I was able to sleep a bit on the last leg, but it is sure hard to sleep sitting up.

Once I got to Singapore around 12:30 a.m. and got a taxi to Frankel Hostel easily, although once the driver dropped me off I was at a loss to find the entrance. Luckily there was a hawker café open at 1:30 a.m. and I asked there and a nice man led me to a black metal screen door at the back of the café and told me to go up the stairs.

So I went in and up the stairs. I found an Asian looking guy about 25-30 years old in the 2nd floor landing working on a computer. I asked him if this was the Frankel Hostel and he said yes, but he was just a guest. I told him I called from the airport, but no one answered and he showed me a sign with instructions. I called again from the phone in the hall and still no answer. I called again and left a msg, but still no one came to show me to my room. I asked the guy on the computer for help again and he told me that the guy I was looking for was sleeping in the room behind the door in the hallway. I knocked lightly on the door, but there was no answer, so I quietly opened the door and stuck my head in. There were three bunk beds in the room with several guys sleeping. I poked my head out of the door and asked the guy in the hall which bed the guy on duty was sleeping in. He pointed to the top bunk on the closest bed and I tip toed in and lightly touched the guy on the arm and he woke up. I told him I wanted to check in and get my key. He said ok and I left the room so the guy could get dressed and he came out and showed me to my room, gave me a key, and took my payment. He left and I locked the door and went to bed as I was really exhausted.

I had a good sleep and was ready to get up by 8 a.m. SP time. I took a shower that was rather cool as I could not figure out how the hot water heater worked and didn’t feel like asking. The room was ok. Very basic and the bathroom was a bit scrungy, with mold in the shower, but it was cheap and safe and I slept well.

After washing up and checking out I went down to the hawker café and had some local coffee with condensed milk and then some chow fun noodles, sautéed cabbage, and some vegan pork flavored slices.

There are hawker cafés all over SP. Basically they are a grouping of several small, hole in the
Value LifeValue LifeValue Life

Value Life. Act Responsibly
wall kitchens, or cooking areas. Each one specializes in one or several types of food; usually Asian, but you can get snacks and drinks too. There are tables and chairs in the general area and that is where you eat after you buy your food. Sometimes the people from the cook stalls service the tables as well and will bring you additional servings, coffee, etc.

After a rather odd breakfast I asked for directions to the metro and off I went to explore SP and find Jurong Bird Park. I found the local train station easily as it was just a few blocks from the hostel. Figuring out the ticket system in the metro station took a bit of studying, but I figured it out, got my pass and was on my way. The MRT went to Boon Lay and from there I took a bus to the Jurong Bird Park. It was very beautiful. The vegetation and the birds.

It was $18sd to enter and well worth it. I visited all of the exhibits and they were all impressive and well kept. I especially enjoyed the shoebill and the saddle billed stork. Both were fascinating. Just being able to walk around was great - stretch my legs, breathe fresh air, hear the birds. It was very nice.

After the bird park I went to Chinatown on the MRT and I got off too far down the line and the pass would not let me out of the station. I spoke to the ticket agent and he advised me to get back on the train and go back to the proper station. I told him that I just wanted to go out of the station at this stop but he said that I needed to go to the correct station and get off. So I got back on and went back a station and finally got out. It turned out good as I was at a good location for exploring Chinatown. There were many shops and they had just about anything to buy, but I was not in a buying mood, so I walked around for a while and had a look around.

I stumbled upon the Sri Mariamman Temple. It is Singapore's oldest Hindu temple. It is an agamic temple, built in the Dravdian style. It was colorful and very unique looking.

Then I stopped for a coffee in the afternoon and read my book a bit. After a while, I headed back to the airport on the MRT which goes right to the airport. Going through customs was easy and there was a cool lounge near the gate for my next plane. The lounge had a dark & quiet area with lounge chairs that let you lay down and rest, leg massager chairs, a big screen TV and comfy chairs in another section and all of it free. I really enjoyed the Changi airport in SP.




Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement



14th December 2007

Wow
Sue I am so impressed with your blog. The pictures are absolutely wonderful. Your bravery is evident in every sentence. You did not mention any language difficulties. You savy in creating a blog is also impressive. I look forward to the next entry. I kept a diary when I went to China in the 90's, but not in suh detail. Love Aunt Linda
14th December 2007

WOW
OMG Sue......great pictures and comentary. Thanks for sending along. It really was an amazing trip, Huh? Jen Newport Beach
16th December 2007

Nice
Hey Sue... Nice start to your trip. I will stay tuned to see the rest. Cheers Gabe
7th January 2008

nice blog sue
i like what i've read so far sue. like the way you write.. u are doing good take care sandy
9th January 2008

impressive indeed!
I admire the way you journaled so that those of us who haven't been, almost feel like we were there! You've inspired me to consider journaling on my next trip. I did it once when I was an exchange student and it's funny to read now! Thanks for sharing!
9th January 2008

Impressive indeed
Just tried to send this, but it didn't work...Thanks for sharing your trip! I almost feel like I was there! You've inspired me to consider journaling on my next trip. I did it once as a teen exchange student, and it's funny to read!

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0475s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb