The start of beautiful things


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore
March 17th 2007
Published: August 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Singapore\Sentosa IslandSingapore\Sentosa IslandSingapore\Sentosa Island

Chelle with a new friend at Sentosa
Well, the journey has began. And boy did it begin in style. Flights out on NZ in business class on Singapore Airlines. Very nice. Ms Ade would you care for another glass of champange. Well yes I do believe that Ms Ade would care for another glass. And perhaps another as well.

I wasn't overly looking forward to a return to Singapore. Some of you will know that my family lived there for a while when I was 3 (not that I really remember anything except my dad throwing my beautiful big blonde doll in the green dress down the apartment garbage chute because he didn't want to pack it for the return trip). However I do remember a return trip when I was 16 at school and quite frankly Singapore didn't really overwhelm me then. Unfortunately it didn't impress me all that much this time either. It was hot, rainy, a bit smelly and with nothing to really do except shop (and when you are already overweight and can't fit anything else into your bags then shopping really isn't all that much fun).

However we made the best of it and went for a city tour (somehow we accidentally ended up on an old peoples tour - complete with a full complement of grey and blue rinses) and saw china tour, little india, the hindi temple, the orchard gardens and other bits and bobs. We managed to fit in our requisite ripping off experience on the first day by being charged $40 for a $10 UV filter for the video camera. Excellent time management if you ask me as you really don't want to waste time getting those type of things out of the way.

Day two took us off to Sentosa island. This actually wasn't too bad. It is a pretty big place and there is quite a bit to do there. My favourite part of it was the Cafe del Mar bar where they have a swim up bar (of course we didn't have our togs with us) and large couches that you can lounge all around.

We also visited the night zoo which was lovely except for the amazingly annoying tour guide that we had on the tram ride. Her voice drove us up the wall. Imagine the Queen on steriods and you have it.

Our last day saw us take in an art gallery (yawn - Singapore art is not riveting) and then head off to the airport for another business class flight to the Maldives!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.611s; Tpl: 0.041s; cc: 9; qc: 62; dbt: 0.1933s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb